Commissioner Mark Myers

Mark Myers is a former director of the U.S. Geological Survey who most recently served as vice chancellor of research at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He previously directed DNR's division of Oil and Gas and Geological & Geophysical Surveys, and served as the coordinator for state efforts under the Alaska Gasline Inducement Act. Previous to his service in state and federal government agencies, he worked as a geologist for ARCO.

Myers earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in geology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and his Ph.D. in geology at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He served in the Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve as a pilot and intelligence officer prior to his career as a geologist.

Deputy Commissioner Ed Fogels

Ed Fogels is responsible for overseeing five divisions -- Agriculture, Forestry, Mining, Land & Water, Parks and Outdoor Recreation and Support Services – as well as the Office of Project Management and Permitting.

Fogels has worked in the department for more than 24 years. Before being appointed Deputy Commissioner, Fogels served as the director of the Office of Project Management and Permitting and as the State's Mining Coordinator responsible for the permitting and administration of all large mining projects in Alaska. Prior to that, Fogels managed the Alaska Coal Regulatory Program and the Land Disposal and Homesteading programs. He spent several years as the department's Resource Planner in the Fairbanks location.

Fogels earned a bachelor's degree in Environmental Sciences from the University of Virginia. He is married to Luann, the school nurse at South Anchorage High School, and together they have a beautiful daughter. Ed enjoys skiing, mountain biking, fly-fishing and cooking with Alaska Grown products.

Deputy Commissioner Marty Rutherford

Marty Rutherford has 19 years of state government experience and previously served as DNR Deputy Commissioner from 1992 to 2005. Most recently, Rutherford served as special project manager for Linc Energy.