Promoting Safe and Enjoyable Boating in Alaska

What's Afloat 

  • NEW! The Alaska Recreational Boating Incident Report Project

    Paul Twardock, Professor of Outdoor Studies at Alaska Pacific University, has created a web page for the collection of boating incidents that aren’t normally shared within the boating community. His site - allows boaters to share accounts of incidents; whether they were accidents or near misses.

    Understanding near misses, which far outnumber accidents, helps the boating community prevent similar situations.

    Note: Boaters are reminded that if a boat accident results in a missing person or death, an injury requiring treatment beyond first aid, or over $500 in damage to a boat they are also required by law to report the accident to the state

  • Announcing a non-pyrotechnic SOS distress light that complies with state and U.S. Coast Guard requirements for night visual distress signals.

  • The Alaska Office of Boating Safety offers Alaska Water Wise courses throughout Alaska. This eight-hour course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard. The course satisfies most states boating safety education requirements and may even qualify boaters for boat insurance discounts. 

    The course is free but pre-registration is encouraged for more information contact Joseph McCullough, 907-269.8704 or by email Joseph McCullough

  • The Alaska Office of Boating Safety offers  Kids Don't Float classes and pool sessions for schools and other groups statewide. To schedule a class or pool session, contact Kelli Toth at (907) 269-6042 or  Kelli Toth

  Alaska's boating fatalities: 9 of 10 were not wearing a life jacket, or were never found   -  5 of 6 followed a capsize, swamping, or fall overboard, into Alaska's cold water   -  9 of 10 were adult males -  9 of 10 involved boats under 26 feet in length  -  3 of 4 involved powerboats