Skip to content
Back to Top

DNR Divisions and Offices

The Department of Natural Resources' seven divisions reflect its major programs: Agriculture, Forestry, Geological & Geophysical Surveys, Mining, Land & Water, Oil & Gas, Parks and Outdoor Recreation, and Support Services.

The Division of Agriculture offers land for agricultural development and works with local producers to promote and support Alaska's agricultural industry through financing for farmers and processors, plant material development, conservation education, marketing assistance, inspection and farm product certification.

The Division of Forestry manages more than two million acres of dedicated State Forests in the Tanana Valley and near Haines for multiple use and sustained yield; protects 134 million acres - over twice the size of Washington State - with its highly trained wildfire suppression organization; and administers Forest Health, Forest Stewardship, Community Forestry and Conservation Education programs.

The Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys (DGGS) generates, analyzes and interprets data on geologic resources and natural conditions; maps and inventories mineral and energy resources on state land for use by government, private industry, scientists, educators and the public.

The Division of Mining, Land & Water is the primary manager of Alaska's land holdings. Responsibilities include ensuring the state's title; preparing land-use plans and easement atlases; classifying land; leasing and permitting state land for recreation, commercial and industrial uses and coordinating and overseeing the needed authorizations for major development on the North Slope. It also manages 2.5 million acres in Public Use and Recreational River Systems and is responsible for land sales and conveyances to municipalities.

The division also manages mineral (excluding oil & gas, coalbed methane and geothermal energy) and water resources. It manages state mineral exploration, development and leasing programs on the 96 million acres of state lands available for mineral exploration and mining and administers state's Surface Coal Mining control and Reclamation Program. The division allocates and manages the state's water resources on all lands in Alaska, adjudicates water rights, provides technical hydrologic support, and assures dam safety.

The Division of Oil and Gas develops and manages the state's oil and gas leasing programs and houses the State Pipeline Coordinator's Section, part of a joint federal-state program to oversee the 800-mile Trans-Alaska Pipeline System and other common-carrier pipelines. The Oil & Gas division staff identifies prospective lease areas; performs geologic, economic, environmental and social analyses, develops a five-year leasing schedule, and conducts public review of proposed sales. The division conducts competitive oil and gas lease sales and monitors collection of all funds resulting from its programs. It is also responsible for the development of the state's geothermal and coalbed methane resources.

The Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation provides outdoor recreation opportunities, protects and interprets areas of natural and cultural significance, and supports the state's tourism industry. Park units range in size and character from the half-acre Potter Section House State Historic Site to the 1.6 million wild acres of Wood-Tikchik State Park. The Office of History and Archaeology, the State Historical Preservation Office, the Office of Boating Safety and the Alaska Trails Program are within this division.

The Support Services Division provides administrative, financial, human resources and computer support for department personnel and facilities throughout the state. Its Land Administration System, status plats, and award-winning Geographic Information Systems mapping are the mainstay of both public and private managers and users of state land and resources. It also serves the public and private sectors through the Recorder's Office, which administers the statewide recording system and the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Central File.

The Commissioner's Office oversees the DNR divisions and several offices, including: the Mental Health Trust Land Office, that manages the Mental Health Trust's land and resources assets; the Office of Project Management & Permitting, which coordinates the review of larger scale projects in the state; and the Public Information Center, which offers "one-stop shopping" for the department's programs and services.