Alaska Historical Commission

Alaska Historical Commission meeting

AHC 2023 Spring Meeting Date, TBD

The Alaska Historical Commission met on Thursday, November 17, 2022, from 9:00 am to 12:30 pm, via Microsoft Teams. The agenda includes updates on historic preservation programs and consideration of applications for four Certified Local Government (CLG) Grants, 13 Predevelopment and Development Grants, and eight Preserve Alaska Grants, OHA's latest funding opportunity.

To sign up for public comment or register to attend the meeting, please email a request to To sign up by phone or to request a printed copy of the agenda, please call 907-269-8700. You may also write to the Office of History and Archaeology, Alaska Department of Natural Resources, 550 West 7th Ave., Suite 1310, Anchorage, AK 99501-3565.

The Alaska Historical Commission is a forum for citizens' voices in the development of state history policy. Members advise the Governor on programs concerning history and prehistory, historic sites and buildings, and on geographic names. The nine-member commission includes the Lieutenant Governor, three citizens trained in history, architecture, or archaeology, an individual representing Native ethnic groups, two members recommended by the Alaska Historical Society, one member from the general public, and the State Historic Preservation Officer. Responsibilities of the Alaska Historical Commission include:

  • Reviewing Alaskan prehistory and history materials now in print
  • Identifying gaps in the published coverage of Alaska's past
  • Identifying sources of Alaska's history
  • Coordinating publication of materials that present all aspects of Alaska's history
  • Reviewing nominations to the National Register of Historic Places
  • Reviewing and making recommendations on grant proposals for historic preservation projects
  • Determining the correct and most appropriate names for Alaska's geographic features
  • Serving as the state representatives for Alaska's Geographic Names Program
  • Advising the Governor and the Legislature on state policy and programs for the preservation of the state's historic, prehistoric, and archaeological resources

Alaska Historical Commission Members

Lt. Gov. Nancy Dahlstrom
State of Alaska
P.O. Box 110015
Juneau, AK 99811-0015
(907) 465-3520
E-mail: Lt. Gov. Nancy Dahlstrom
Liaison: Kimberly Griffith
Phone: (907) 269-7460

Judy Bittner
State Historic Preservation Officer
Office of History and Archaeology
550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1310
Anchorage, AK 99501-3565
(907) 269-8715

Forgiveness "Givey" Kochanowski
12221 Shenandoah Road
Anchorage, AK 99516
(907) 717-4240
(907) 271-1423
(Public member, term ends 6/30/23)

Raymond Bonnell
127 Glacier Avenue
Fairbanks, Alaska 99701
Home:(907) 452-5455
(Alaska Historical Society, term ends 6.30.23)

Wayne Jensen
522 West Tenth St.
Juneau, AK 99801
Work: (907) 789-4521
Home: (907) 364-2474
Cell: (907) 321-0838
(Architect, term ends 6/30/23)

Advisor to the Commission on Alaska Native Geographic Names:
D. Roy Mitchell, IV, Research Analyst
Alaska Native Language Preservation & Advisory Council State of Alaska
Division of Community and Regional Affairs
550 W. 7th Ave, Suite 1640
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Work: (907) 269-3646

Rebecca Poulson
107 Jeff Davis St.
Sitka, AK 99835
Work: (907) 747-3448
Cell: (907) 738-7448
(Alaska Historical Society, term ends 6/30/21)

Mark W. Rollins
1833 Kalgin Street
Anchorage, AK 99504
Work: (907) 269-8722
Cell: (907) 631-9449
E-Mail: or
(Archaeologist, term ends 6/30/22)

Jonathon Ross
19933 Tulwar Dr.
Chugiak, AK 99567
(907) 230-1457
(Alaska Native, term ends 6/30/24)

Historian Seat Vacant

Attorney for the Commission:
Harriet Dinegar Milks
Alaska Department of Law
123 4th Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
PO BOX 110300
Juneau, AK 99811-0300
Work: (907) 465-2123