Alaska's Certified Local Government Program

Fifteen Alaskan cities, boroughs, and municipalities are historic preservation partners known as Certified Local Governments. The first were certified in 1986 and our most recent CLG, the City of Kodiak, was certified on March 23, 2023. Between 1986 and 2022 Alaska CLGs conducted 199 projects and received $2,072,336 in federal Historic Preservation Fund CLG grants. Grant projects have included neighborhood surveys in Juneau and Dillingham; archaeological testing in the Matanuska-Susitna Borough; preservation planning in the Matanuska-Susitna Borough, Ketchikan, Fairbanks and the North Slope Borough; creation of inventories in Juneau, Sitka, Unalaska, Kenai and Anchorage; National Register documentation in Ketchikan; and public education programs in Seward, Cordova and Juneau. For more information on each CLG, click on the links below.

Alaska's CLGs

A profile of the preservation program, National Register of Historic Places, and CLG grants for each Alaska CLG can be found by clicking on the name of the local government below.