Alaska Historical Commission

The Alaska Historical Commission is a forum for citizens' voices in the development of state history policy. Members advise the Governor on programs concerning history and prehistory, historic sites and buildings, and on geographic names. The nine-member commission includes the Lieutenant Governor, three citizens trained in history, architecture, or archaeology, an individual representing Native ethnic groups, two members recommended by the Alaska Historical Society, one member from the general public, and the State Historic Preservation Officer. Responsibilities of the Alaska Historical Commission include:

  • Reviewing Alaskan prehistory and history materials now in print
  • Identifying gaps in the published coverage of Alaska's past
  • Identifying sources of Alaska's history
  • Coordinating publication of materials that present all aspects of Alaska's history
  • Reviewing nominations to the National Register of Historic Places
  • Reviewing and making recommendations on grant proposals for historic preservation projects
  • Determining the correct and most appropriate names for Alaska's geographic features
  • Serving as the state representatives for Alaska's Geographic Names Program
  • Advising the Governor and the Legislature on state policy and programs for the preservation of the state's historic, prehistoric, and archaeological resources

Alaska Historical Commission Members

Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer (Chair)
State of Alaska
P.O. Box 110015
Juneau, AK 99811-0015
(907) 465-3520
E-mail: Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer
Liaison: Dianne Prince
Phone: (907) 269-7460
e-mail: dianne.prince@alaska.gov

Judy Bittner
State Historic Preservation Officer
Office of History and Archaeology
550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1310
Anchorage, AK 99501-3565
(907) 269-8715
E-mail: judy.bittner@alaska.gov

Talis J. Colberg
P.O. Box 336
Palmer, Alaska 99645-0336
(907) 745-9726
E-mail: tjcolberg@alaska.edu
(Vice-chair, Public member, term ends 6/30/20)

Alisha Drabek
1522 E. Kouskov Street
Kodiak, AK 99615
(907) 481-2160
E-mail: alish@nunaworks.com
(Historian, term ends 6/30/21)

Michael C. Hawfield
P.O. Box 2609
Homer, AK 99603-2609
Home:(907) 234-6078
Cell: (907) 299-0290
E-mail: mchawfield@alaska.edu
(Alaska Historical Society, term ends 6/30/20)

Wayne Jensen
522 West Tenth St.
Juneau, AK 99801
Work: (907) 789-4521
Home: (907) 364-2474
Cell: (907) 321-0838
E-mail: wayne@jensenyorbalott.com
(Architect, term ends 6/30/20)

Rebecca Poulson

107 Jeff Davis St.
Sitka, AK 99835
Work: (907) 747-3448
Cell: (907) 738-7448
E-mail: rebecca_poulson@hotmail.com 
(Alaska Historical Society, term ends 6/30/21)

Jonathon Ross

19933 Tulwar Dr.
Chugiak, AK 99567
(907) 230-1457
E-mail: enushen@yahoo.com
(Indigenous Ethnic Group Representative, term ends 6/30/22)

Mark W. Rollins

1833 Kalgin Street
Anchorage, AK 99504
Work: (907) 269-8722
Cell: (907) 631-9449
E-Mail: mark.rollins@alaska.gov or markwrollins@gmail.com
(Archaeologist, term ends 6/22/2022)

Attorney for the Commission:
Joan M. Wilson
Alaska Department of Law
1031 West 4th Ave., Suite 200
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Work: (907) 269-3039
E-mail: joan.wilson@alaska.gov