Promoting Safe and Enjoyable Boating in Alaska

What's Afloat

  • Kids Don’t Float 100,000 Participants celebration - Kids Don't Float Fashion Show
  • The latest Cold Water Brochure is now available.
  • Our newest video "Cold Water Survivors" is now available for viewing on YouTube. The video supplements the Kids Don’t Float Schools Program curriculum with a real life story, and features key messages about cold water immersion and the importance of wearing life jackets.
  • Spring is almost here and folks are starting to think about boating in our wonderful state. Make a boating safety class part of your preparation. The Alaska Office of Boating Safety is offering several Alaska Water Wise courses throughout Alaska this spring
        • Anchorage – May 17
        • Bethel – June 19
    This eight-hour course designed for Alaskans is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard. The course satisfies most states boating safety education requirements and may even qualify boaters for boat insurance discounts.
    The course is free but pre-registration is encouraged. For more information contact Joseph McCullough, 907-269.8704 or by email Joseph McCullough.
  • The Navigation Rules of the Road reference guide.
  • What do you need to carry on your boat to be legal in Alaska? The Alaska Requirements Summary, is a quick reference guide for boaters.

-   In the last 10 years, 105 more Alaskans died in recreational boating accidents than died in commercial fishing.   -  9 of 10 of those who died were adult males   -  5 of 6 experience a capsize or fall overboard into Alaska's cold water   -  3 of 4 involve powerboats   -  Half are in salt water, half in fresh water   -  9 of 10 involve boats under 26 feet in length