The first step in producing relevant and effective boating safety programs is gathering and analyzing the information provided by boat accident reports.
Non-Commercial Boating Accident Reporting Requirements
To gather accident statistics only, the operator (owner, if the operator is unable to) of a boat used for non-commercial purposes or registered by the State Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles, is required to submit a report in writing whenever an accident results in: loss of life or disappearance from a vessel; an injury which requires medical treatment beyond first aid; property damage in excess of $500; or complete loss of the vessel. Federal law requires that in death, disappearance, and injury cases, reports must be submitted within 48 hours and in other cases within 10 days. Submit completed reports to:
State of Alaska, Office of Boating Safety
550 W. 7th Ave., Suite 1380
Anchorage, AK 99501
or fax to: (907) 269-8907
or e-mail to: firstname.lastname@example.org
This form is provided to assist the operator in filing the required written report. The first form can be filled out on-line and submitted directly to the office of boating safety. The second form can be filled out and mailed or faxed to the Office of Boating Safety. If you need further assistance, please contact the Office of Boating Safety at (907) 269-8704.
Boating Accident Report Form