ALASKA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM

INDIVIDUAL PERMIT

Permit Number: AK0053341

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION
Wastewater Discharge Authorization Program
555 Cordova Street
Anchorage, AK 99501

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act (CWA), 33 U.S.C. §1251 e seq.. as amended
by the Water Quality Act of 1987, P.L. 100-4, this permit is issued under provisions of Alaska Statutes
(AS) 46.03; the Alaska Administrative Code (AAC) as amended; and other applicable State laws and
regulations. The

Sumitomo Metal Mining Co. LLC.

is authorized to discharge from the Pogo Gold Mine located 38 miles northeast of Delta Junction,
Alaska, at the following locations (datum: NAD 83 Geographic):

Outfall Receiving Water Latitude Longitude
001 Goodpaster River 64°28 12" 144°55'03"
002 Goodpaster River 64°26'36"  144°56' 30"

in accordance with effluent limitations, monitoring requirements, and other provisions set forth herein.
This permit and authorization to discharge shall become effective May 1, 2011
This permit and the authorization to discharge shall expire at midnight, April 30, 2016

The permittee shall reapply for a permit reissuance on or before November 1, 2015, 180 days before the
expiration of this permit if the permittee intends to continue operations and discharge(s) at the facility
beyond the term of this permit.

The permittee shall post or maintain a copy of this permit to discharge at the facility and make it
available to the public, employees, and subcontractors at the facility.

Signed
Pam s »’?W§ £ [ 1 5/5,{52 a2 P ; P ifd 3{: ¢ F 5;{« "&fﬁwg i
Signature {/ Date
=5 0 F Y ey vy e { ‘)mf‘ =3 g oM " 27 % .y A
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Printed Name ( Title ,
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1.0 LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS

During the effective period of this permit, the permittee is authorized to discharge pollutants from the
outfalls specified herein to the Goodpaster River, within the limits and subject to the conditions set forth
herein. This permit authorizes the discharge of only those pollutants resulting from facility processes, waste
streams, and operations that have been clearly identified in the permit application process.

1.1 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring — Outfall 001

The permittee must limit and monitor discharges from outfall 001 as specified in Table 1, below. All
figures represent maximum effluent limits unless otherwise indicated. The permittee must comply with
the effluent limits in the tables at all times unless otherwise indicated, regardless of the frequency of
monitoring or reporting required by other provisions of this permit.

1.1.1 OQutfall 001 Limitations and Monitoring
Table 1: Outfall 001 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Requirements

Parameter Units Effluent Limitations Monitoring Requirements
Vo | ge | e, | sanore e

Arsenic ug/L - - monthly grab
Cadmium"? ug/L 0.2 0.1 weekly grab
Copper"? ug/L 45 2.2 weekly grab
Cyanide® ug/L 6.9 4.7 weekly grab
Lead? ug/L 1.3 0.5 weekly grab
Manganese’ ug/L - - monthly grab
Mercury™* ug/L 0.02 0.01 monthly grab
Zinc? ug/L 43.0 16.8 monthly grab
TDS mg/L - - monthly grab
;rflélrsie(rj]itty' NTU See Permit Part 1.1.4 monthly grab
Turbidity,
natural NTU - - monthly grab
condition
Sulfates mg/L - - monthly grab
pH’ S.u. See Permit Part 1.1.3 weekly grab
Outfall Flow® gpm 15,600 - continuous recording
I(-:I:?g:ss, % mg/L - - monthly grab
Chronic
\é\li?lifnt TU, - - annually grab
Toxicity®
Footnotes:
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Parameter Units Effluent Limitations Monitoring Requirements
Maximum Average Sample
Daily Monthly Frequency® Sample Type

Parameters must be analyzed and reported as total recoverable unless otherwise noted.
Reporting of a maximum daily limit violation is required according to Appendix A, Part 3.4.
Cyanide will be analyzed as weak acid dissociable cyanide (WAD)
Mercury must be analyzed and reported as total.
See Permit Part 1.1.6.
See Permit Part 1.4 for whole effluent toxicity testing requirements
Under 40 CFR 401.17, if a permittee continuously measures the pH of wastewater, excursions from the
effluent limit range are permitted subject to the following limitations:
a. The total time during which the pH values are outside the required range shall not exceed 7
hours and 26 minutes. In any calendar month; and
b. No individual excursion from the range of pH values shall exceed 60 minutes. Any excursions
should be fully reported within the cover letter. Excursions beyond this exemption should be
reported within the DMR.
If the Permittee monitors continuously, the number of excursions and any additional information shall be
reported in the “Comments” section of the DMR, but an allowable excursion must not be reported as a
monthly minimum or maximum pH measurement.
8. If there is no discharge from Outfall 011 for 72 hours, routine sampling of Outfall 001 is not required.
However, when discharge from Outfall 011 commences, a sample from Outfall 001 is required within 36
hours of the commencement of the discharge.

Nogah~wdbPE

1.1.2 The permittee must not discharge any floating solids, visible foam in other than trace amounts, or
oily wastes that produce a sheen on the surface of the receiving water. Daily visual monitoring is
required.

1.1.3 The pH must not be less than 6.5 standard units (s.u.) nor greater than 8.5 s.u.

1.1.4 The turbidity measured in nephelometric turbidity units (NTU) must not be more than 5 NTUs
above the natural condition. The natural condition sample take from the Goodpaster River at the
point designated NPDES 001b must be taken within an hour of the effluent sample.

1.1.5 The permittee must collect samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit prior to
discharge into the receiving waters.

1.1.6 The flow from Pond 1 into Pond 2 shall not exceed 25 times the flow from the treatment plant
into Pond 2. Under extraordinary circumstances such as a system upset (Appendix A, Part 2.7) or
unanticipated bypass (Appendix A, Part 2.6), ADEC may authorize an increased dilution ratio to
mitigate the impacts of the upset or bypass on the Goodpaster River. In the event that no flow
from the treatment plant was occurring, the dilution ratio would not apply after 72 hours of the
last effluent from the treatment plant entering the ORTW because the flow from Pond 1 would
not be diluting any flow from the treatment plant.

1.1.7 Minimum Levels. For all effluent monitoring, the permittee must use methods (see Permit Part
3.3) that can achieve a minimum level (ML) less than the effluent limitation. A facility specific
ML of 20 ug/L is the compliance level for cyanide with an MDL of 10 ug/L. For parameters that
do not have effluent limitations, the permittee must use methods that can achieve MLs less than
or equal to those specified in Table 5 (Permit Part 1.5.3).
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1.1.8 For purposes of reporting on the Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) for this permit only, for a
single sample, if a value is less than the Method Detection Level (MDL), the permittee must
report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if a value is less than the ML, the permittee
must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.” For purposes of calculating monthly
averages, zero may be assigned for values between less than the MDL, the {numeric value of the
MDL} may be assigned for values between the MDL and the ML. If the average value is less
than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if the
average value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the
ML}.” If a value is greater than the ML, the permittee must report and use the actual value.

1.2 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring — Outfall 011
(internal monitoring to outfall 001)
The permittee must limit and monitor discharges from outfall 011 as specified in Table 2, below.
Sampling for outfall 011 will occur after the treatment plant and prior to the flow entering the off-river
treatment works. All figures represent maximum effluent limits unless otherwise indicated. The

permittee must comply with the effluent limits in the table at all times unless otherwise indicated,
regardless of the frequency of monitoring or reporting required by other provisions of this permit.

1.2.1 Outfall 011 Limitations and Monitoring
Table 2: Outfall 011 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Requirements

Parameter Units Effluent Limitations Monitoring Requirements
Aluminum’ ug/L - - quarterly grab
Arsenic’ ug/L - - quarterly grab
Cadmium ug/L 100 50 quarterly grab
.cr:gtr;mium' ug/L - - quarterly grab
Copper' ug/L 300 150 quarterly grab
Cyanide® ug/L - - weekly grab
Iron’ ug/L 1639 817 weekly* grab
Lead’ ug/L 600 300 quarterly grab
Mercury” ug/L 2 1 quarterly grab
Nickel ug/L - - quarterly grab
Selenium* ug/L - - quarterly grab
Silver® ug/L - - quarterly grab
Zinc! ug/L 1500 750 quarterly grab
TSS mg/L 30 20 weekly grab
TDS mg/L - - quarterly grab
Sulfates mg/L - - quarterly grab
Chlorides mg/L - - quarterly grab
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Parameter Units Effluent Limitations Monitoring Requirements
Maximum Average Sample Sample Tvoe
Daily Monthly Frequency ple Typ
pH S.u. See Permit Part 1.2.2 weekly grab
Outfall flow gpm 600 - continuous recording
Hardness as
CaCo, mg/L - - weekly grab
Footnotes:
1. These parameters must be analyzed and reported as total recoverable.
2. Mercury must be analyzed and reported as total.
3. Analyzed as weak acid dissociable (WAD) cyanide.
4. Sampling frequency may decrease to quarterly after 2 years if ADEC determine there has been consistent
compliance with the permit limitations

1.2.2 The pH must not be less than 6.0 s.u. nor greater than 9.0 s.u.

1.2.3 Minimum Levels. For all effluent monitoring, the permittee must use methods (see Permit Part
3.3) that can achieve a minimum level (ML) less than the effluent limitation. For parameters that
do not have effluent limitations, the permittee must use methods that can achieve MLs less than
or equal to those specified in Table 5 (Permit Part 1.5.3).

1.2.4 For purposes of reporting on the DMR for this permit only, for a single sample, if a value is less
than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if a value
is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.” For
purposes of calculating monthly averages, zero may be assigned for values less than the MDL,
the {numeric value of the MDL} may be assigned for values between the MDL and the ML. If
the average value is less than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of
the MDL}” and if the average value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than
{numeric value of the ML}.” If a value is greater than the ML, the permittee must report and use
the actual value.

1.3 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Requirements — Outfall 002

The permittee must limit and monitor discharges from outfall 002 as specified in the Table 3, below.
All figures represent maximum effluent limits unless otherwise indicated. The permittee must comply
with the effluent limits in the table at all times unless otherwise indicated, regardless of the frequency
of monitoring or reporting required by other provisions of this permit.

1.3.1 Outfall 002 Limitations and Monitoring
Table 3: Outfall 002 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Requirements

Parameter Units Effluent Limitations Monitoring Requirements
Maximum Average Weekly Frgaumeals 3, Sample
Daily Monthly Average g 4 y Type
Flow gpd 72,000 - - daily recording
Biochemical | mg/L 60 30 45 weekly grab
Oxygen
Demand
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Parameter Units Effluent Limitations Monitoring Requirements
Maximum Average Weekly Friaumeals 3, Sample
Daily Monthly Average g 4 y Type

(BODs)

Influent mg/L See Permit Part 1.3.5 quarterly grab

BODs

Total mg/L 60 30 45 Weekly grab

Suspended

Solids (TSS)

Influent TSS | mg/L See Permit Part 1.3.5 quarterly grab

Fecal #/100 mL 400 200 - weekly grab

Coliform*?

Nitrates mg/L 160 80 - weekly grab

pH S.u. See Permit Part 1.3.3 weekly grab

Dissolved mg/L See Permit Part 1.3.4 weekly grab

Oxygen

Footnotes:

1. The standard holding time for a fecal coliform sample is 6 hours or 6 hours transport time if the analysis
commences within 2 hours of sample receipt at the laboratory. 1f EPA approves a variance from this
holding time under 40 CFR 136.3(e), the new holding time will be applicable to samples from that date
forward.

2. Averages are calculated as the geometric mean.

3. Ifthere is no discharge, sampling is not required. A sample shall be taken within 24 hours of the
discharge recommencing.

4. After consultations with ADEC, the sampling frequency may decrease to monthly if this discharge has
been in full compliance with the permit limitations in Permit Part 1.3 for 6 consecutive months.

1.3.2 The permittee must not discharge any floating solids, visible foam in other than trace amounts, or
oily wastes that produce a sheen on the surface of the receiving water. Daily visual monitoring is
required.

1.3.3 The pH must not be less than 6.0 s.u. nor greater than 9.0 s.u.

1.3.4 Dissolved Oxygen (DO) must be greater than 2 mg/L.

1.3.5 Influent (prior to treatment) measures of BODs and TSS shall be done on a quarterly basis. From

this information, percent removal shall be calculated and reported on the DMR in January, April,
July, and October for the previous quarter.. The Permittee shall use the effluent sample taken at
the same time as the influent sample when calculating percent removal. If more than one
influent sample is taken, the number of effluent samples corresponding to the number and timing
of the influent samples must be used in the calculation. If more than one sample is taken, the
arithmetic mean of the influent samples and the arithmetic mean of the effluent samples shall be
used in the calculation. The formula to be used is: ((influent - effluent) / influent) x 100. Percent
removal shall meet or exceed 85% for both parameters. The minimum and the average shall be
reported.
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1.3.6 The permittee must collect effluent samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit
prior to discharge into the receiving waters.

1.3.7 For purposes of reporting on the DMR for this permit only, for a single sample, if a value is less
than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if a value
is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.” For
purposes of calculating monthly averages, zero may be assigned for values less than the MDL,
the {numeric value of the MDL} may be assigned for values between the MDL and the ML. If
the average value is less than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of
the MDL}” and if the average value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than
{numeric value of the ML}.” If a value is greater than the ML, the permittee must report and use
the actual value.

1.3.8 Signs must be placed on the riverbanks near the mixing zone and outfall line. The signs must
provide the identity and telephone numbers of the discharger; must inform the public that a
mixing zone exists, that treated and disinfected wastewater is being discharged and that users of
the area should exercise caution.

1.4 Whole Effluent Toxicity Testing (WET) Requirements

The permittee must conduct chronic toxicity test on effluent samples from outfall 001. Testing must be
conducted in accordance with the subsections 1.4.1 through 1.4.7, below.

1.4.1 Toxicity testing must be conducted on grab sample of effluent. In addition, a split of each
sample collected must be analyzed for the chemical and physical parameters required in Permit
Part 1.1 above. The grab sample for toxicity testing should be of adequate size to accommodate
the split sample. When the timing of sample collection coincides with that of the sampling
required in Permit Part 1.1, analysis of the split sample will fulfill the requirements of Permit
Part 1.1 as well.

1.4.2 Chronic Test Species and Methods

1.4.2.1 For Outfall 001, chronic tests must be conducted annually prior to August 1. The effluent
collected for toxicity testing must be collected at the same time as the receiving water
surface water monitoring (see Permit Part 1.5.).

1.4.2.2 The permittee must conduct short-term tests with the water flea, Ceriodaphnia dubia
(survival and reproduction test), and the fathead minnow, Pimephales promelas (larval
survival and growth test), for the first two suites of tests. After this screening period,
monitoring shall be conducted using the most sensitive species. If no toxicity is observed
in either species, testing shall be conducted on the fathead minnow.

1.4.2.3 The presence of chronic toxicity must be determined as specified in Short-Term Methods
for Estimating the Chronic Toxicity of Effluents and Receiving Waters to Freshwater
Organisms, Fourth Edition, EPA/821-R-02-013, October 2002.

1.4.2.4 Results must be reported in TU. (chronic toxic units), where TU; = 100/IC2. See Permit
Part 6.0 for a definition of 1Cys.

1.4.3 Toxicity Triggers. Since data does not exist to support the development of a WET limit at this
time, a target level for chronic toxicity of 2 TU¢ shall apply for the purposes of determining
compliance with paragraphs 1.4.5 and 1.4.6.

1.4.4 Quality Assurance
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1.44.2

1.4.4.3
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The toxicity testing on each organism must include a series of five test dilutions (100%,
75%, 50%, 25%, and 12.5%) and a control.

All quality assurance criteria and statistical analyses used for chronic tests and reference
toxicant tests must be in accordance with Short-Term Methods for Estimating the Chronic
Toxicity of Effluents and Receiving Waters to Freshwater Organisms, Fourth Edition,
EPA/821-R-02-013, October 2002, and individual test protocols.

In addition to those quality assurance measures specified in the methodology, the
following quality assurance procedures must be followed:

1.4.4.3.1 If organisms are not cultured in-house, concurrent testing with reference

toxicants must be conducted. If organisms are cultured in-house, monthly
reference toxicant testing is sufficient. Reference toxicant tests must be
conducted using the same test conditions as the effluent toxicity tests.

1.4.4.3.2 If either of the reference toxicant tests or the effluent tests do not meet all test

acceptability criteria as specified in the test methods manual, the permittee must
re-sample and re-test within 14 days of receipt of the test results.

1.4.4.3.3 Control and dilution water must be receiving water or lab water, as appropriate,

as described in the manual. If the dilution water used is different from the
culture water, a second control, using culture water must also be used.
Receiving water may be used as control and dilution water upon notification of
ADEC. In no case shall water that has not met test acceptability criteria be used
for either dilution or control.

1.4.5 Accelerated Testing

1451

1.45.2

1.4.5.3

Initial Investigation. If the permittee demonstrates through an evaluation of facility
operations that the cause of the exceedance is known and corrective actions have been
implemented, only one accelerated test is necessary and the permittee would return to
normal WET testing frequency. If toxicity exceeding the trigger is detected in this test,
then the TRE requirements in Permit Part 1.4.6 shall apply, or

If chronic toxicity is detected above the triggers specified in paragraph 1.4.3 and no
initial investigation is conducted or no cause is found then the permittee must conduct
four more biweekly tests over an eight week period. This accelerated testing must be
initiated within two weeks of receipt of the test results that indicate an exceedance.

The permittee must notify ADEC of the exceedance in writing within two weeks of
receipt of the test results. The notification must include the following information:

1.45.3.1 A status report on any actions required by the permit, with a schedule for

actions not yet completed.

1.4.5.3.2 A description of any additional actions the permittee has taken or will take to

investigate and correct the cause(s) of the toxicity.

1.4.5.3.3 Where no actions have been taken, a discussion of the reasons for not taking

action.
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If none of the four accelerated test exceed the toxicity trigger, the permittee may return to
the normal testing frequency. If any of the four test exceed the trigger, then the TRE
requirements in Permit Part 1.4.6, shall apply.

1.4.6 Toxicity Reduction Evaluation (TRE) and Toxicity Identification Evaluation (TIE):

1461

1.4.6.2

1.4.6.3

If chronic toxicity triggers are exceeded during accelerated testing under Permit Part
1.4.5, the permittee must initiate a toxicity reduction evaluation (TRE) in accordance
with Generalized Methodology for Conducting Industrial Toxicity Reduction Evaluations
(EPA/600/2-88/070) within two weeks of the receipt of the test results showing an
exceedance. Ata minimum, the TRE must include:

1.4.6.1.1 Further actions to investigate and identify the cause of toxicity;

1.4.6.1.2 Actions the permittee will take to mitigate the impact of the discharge and to

prevent the recurrence of toxicity; and

1.4.6.1.3 A schedule for these actions.

If a TRE is initiated prior to completion of the accelerated testing, the accelerated testing
schedule may be terminated, or used as necessary in performing the TRE.

The permittee may initiate a Toxicity Identification Evaluation (TIE) as part of the TRE
process. Any TIE must be performed in accordance with EPA guidance manuals,
Toxicity Identification Evaluation; Characterization of Chronically Toxic Effluents,
Phase | (EPA/600/6-91/005F), Methods for Aquatic Toxicity Identification Evaluations,
Phase II: Toxicity Identification Procedures for Samples Exhibiting Acute and Chronic
Toxicity (EPA/600/R-92/080), and Methods for Aquatic Toxicity Identification
Evaluations, Phase Il1: Toxicity Confirmation Procedures for Samples Exhibiting Acute
and Chronic Toxicity (EPA-600/R-92/081).

1.4.7 Reporting

1471

1.4.7.2

1.4.7.3

The permittee must confirm on the DMR for the month of September that the toxicity test
was conducted and whether any toxicity was found. The full toxicity test results will be
included in the annual report due March 1 of the following year, as required in Permit
Part 1.5.6.

The permittee must submit the results of any accelerated testing, under Permit Part 1.4.5,
within 2 weeks of receipt of the results from the lab. The full report must be submitted
within 4 weeks of receipt of the results from the lab. If an initial investigation indicates
the source of toxicity and accelerated testing is unnecessary, the result of the
investigation must be submitted with the DMR for the month following completion of the
investigation.

The report of toxicity test results must include all relevant information outlined in Section
10, Report Preparation, of Short-Term Methods for Estimating the Chronic Toxicity of
Effluents and Receiving Waters to Freshwater Organisms, Fourth Edition, EPA/821-R-
02-013, October 2002. In addition to toxicity test results, the permittee must report:

dates of sample collection and initiation of each test; the toxicity triggers as defined in
paragraph 1.4.3; flow rate at the time of sample collection; and the results of the
monitoring required in Permit Part 1.1.
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1.5 Surface Water Monitoring

The permittee must perform the following receiving water monitoring program to monitor changes
that may occur as a result of activities associated with the discharges from the facility.

1.5.1 The permittee must conduct surface water monitoring at the following monitoring stations:
Goodpaster monitoring stations SW-1, SW-15, SW-41, and SW-42.
During the following times:
(a) Late February to mid-March; (b) mid-May; (c) mid-June; (d) early August; (e) late-
September; and (f) during the month of December.

1.5.2 All ambient samples must be grab samples.

1.5.3 All samples must be analyzed for the parameters listed in Table 4, below, to achieve minimum
levels (MLs) that are equivalent to or less than those listed in Table 5, below, or the effluent
limitations of the limited parameters in Tables 1 or 2.

Table 4: Surface Water Monitoring Parameters’

pH TSS Iron*

DO Hardness Lead

Conductivity Alkalinity Copper

Temperature Cyanide, WAD Manganese*

Turbidity Aluminum? Mercury

Chlorides Antimony® Nickel

Nitrates Arsenic Selenium?

Sulfates Cadmium Silver

TDS Chromium Zinc

Footnotes:

1. Freshness criteria for metals are expressed in terms of the dissolved metal in the water column unless noted in
other footnotes.

2. These values (Al and Se) are expressed in terms of total recoverable metal in the water column as expressly stated
in the 2008 Toxics manual included as part of the WQS

3. This value should be expressed as total because the most stringent value for antimony is the drinking water MCL
which are analyzed as total.

4, These values (Fe and Mn) are expressed in terms of total recoverable metal in the water column. Neither the
WQS nor EPA’s 1999 Recommended Criteria explicitly state the type of analysis to be used. In 1999, EPA was
recommending for the first time that dissolved be used over total recoverable and changes were noted for each
parameter. Therefore, the lack of a specification implies that if a parameter was not noted, the type of analysis
remained total recoverable.
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Parameter Units Minimum Level (ML)
Aluminum ug/L 50

Antimony ug/L 3

Arsenic ug/L 5

Chromium, Total ug/L 10

Selenium ug/L 1.9

Silver ug/L 0.3

The permittee may request different MLs. Such a request must be in writing and must be
approved by ADEC.

1.5.4 Quality assurance/quality control plans for all the monitoring must be documented in the Quality

Assurance Plan required under Permit Part 1.6, “Quality Assurance Plan”.

1.5.5 The permittee shall collect and analyze individually with whole body analyses a minimum of 10

juvenile chinook salmon in late fall prior to freeze up. The permittee shall analyze and record
the concentrations of arsenic, antimony, cadmium, copper, lead, nickel, selenium, silver, and
mercury. Samples of 10 juvenile chinook salmon per site should be collected at Stations SW01
and SW12 (corresponds to the baseline sampling effort). This report, including electronic copies
of the raw data from each sample, shall be submitted with the Annual Water Quality Monitoring
Summary Report as described below in subpart 1.5.6.

1.5.6 All monitoring results for a year must be included in an Annual Water Quality Monitoring

Summary Report and submitted by March 1 of the following year. The report must include a
presentation of the analytical results and an evaluation of the results. The evaluation must
include an electronic spreadsheet containing all historical data for both water quality and whole
body analysis, a graphical presentation of the data at each monitoring station, a comparison of
upstream and downstream monitoring results (to show any differences) and a comparison of
monitoring results for each station over time (to show any trends). The Annual Report may
reference the monthly reports for QA/QC information.

1.5.6.1 All monitoring results for a calendar year shall be reported in the Annual Water Quality
Monitoring Summary report. At a minimum, the report must include the following:

1.5.6.2 Dates of sample collection and analyses.

1.5.6.3 Results of sample analysis.

1.5.6.4 Relevant quality assurance/quality control (QA/QC) information.

1.6 Quality Assurance Plan (QAP)

The permittee must develop a quality assurance plan (QAP) for all monitoring required by this permit.
The QAP may be contained in an overall monitoring plan for the entire project. The QAP, or the QAP
portion of an overall monitoring plan, must be reviewed and notice submitted to ADEC within 60 days
of the effective date of this permit and be made available upon request. Any changes made to the

existing QAP shall be completed according to subpart 1.6.3, below.
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1.6.1 The QAP must be designed to assist in planning for the collection and analysis of effluent and
receiving water samples in support of the permit and in explaining data anomalies when they
occur.

1.6.2 Throughout all sample collection and analysis activities, the permittee must use the EPA-
approved QA/QC and chain-of-custody procedures described in the most recent editions of
Requirements for Quality Assurance Project Plans (EPA/QA/R-5) and Guidance for Quality
Assurance Project Plans (EPA/QA/G-5). The QAP must be prepared in the format which is
specified in these documents.

1.6.3 The permittee must amend the QAP whenever there is a modification in sample collection,
sample analysis, or other procedure addressed by the QAP.

1.6.4 Copies of the QAP must be kept on site and made available to EPA and/or ADEC upon request.

2.0 BEST MANAGEMENT PRACTICES PLAN

2.1

2.2

2.3

Purpose

Through implementation of the best management practices (BMP) plan the permittee must prevent or
minimize the generation and the potential for the release of pollutants from the facility to the waters of
the United States through normal and ancillary activities.

Development and Implementation Schedule

The permittee must develop and implement a BMP Plan which achieves the objectives and the specific
requirements listed below. The BMP Plan must be reevaluated within 60 days of the effective date of
the permit and the permittee must send notice to ADEC that this has been completed. If any changes
are made through this evaluation, the permittee shall follow the procedures in Permit Part 2.6, below.
The BMP Plan may be included as part of a project wide document or the BMP Plan may reference
other such documents.

Objectives

The permittee must develop and amend the BMP Plan consistent with the following objectives for the
control of pollutants.

2.3.1 The number and quantity of pollutants and the toxicity of effluent generated, discharged or
potentially discharged at the facility must be minimized by the permittee to the extent feasible by
managing each waste stream in the most appropriate manner.

2.3.2 Under the BMP Plan and any Standard Operating Procedures included in the BMP Plan, the
permittee must ensure proper operation and maintenance of water management and wastewater
treatment systems. BMP Plan elements must be developed in accordance with good engineering
practices.

2.3.3 Each facility component or system must be examined for its waste minimization opportunities
and its potential for causing a release of significant amounts of pollutants to waters of the United
States due to equipment failure, improper operation, natural phenomena such as rain or snowfall,
etc. The examination must include all normal operations and ancillary activities including
material storage areas, storm water, in-plant transfer, material handling and process handling
areas, loading or unloading operations, spillage or leaks, sludge and waste disposal, or drainage
from raw material storage.
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2.4 Elements of the BMP Plan

The BMP Plan should be consistent with the objectives above and the general guidance contained in
Guidance Manual for Developing Best Management Practices (EPA 833-B-93-004, October 1993)
and Storm Water Management For Industrial Activities, Developing Pollution Prevention Plans and
Best Management Practices (EPA 832-R-92-006) or any subsequent revision to these guidance
documents. The BMP Plan must include, at a minimum, the following items:

2.4.1 Plan Components

2411

24.1.2

2.4.1.3
2414
24.15

24.1.6

2.4.1.7
24.1.8
24.1.9
2.4.1.10
24111
2.4.1.12
2.4.1.13
24.1.14

2.4.1.15

Statement of BMP policy. The BMP Plan must include a statement of management
commitment to provide the necessary financial, staff, equipment, and training resources
to develop and implement the BMP Plan on a continuing basis.

Structure, functions, and procedures of the BMP Committee. The BMP Plan must
establish a BMP Committee responsible for developing, implementing, and maintaining
the BMP Plan.

Description of potential pollutant sources
Risk identification and assessment

Standard operating procedures to achieve the above objectives and specific best
management practices (see below) and

Reporting of BMP incidents. The reports must include a description of the circumstances
leading to the incident, corrective actions taken and recommended changes to operating
and maintenance practices to prevent recurrence.

Materials compatibility

Good housekeeping

Inspections

Preventative maintenance and repair
Security

Employee training

Recordkeeping and reporting

Prior evaluation of any planned modifications to the facility to ensure that the
requirements of the BMP plan are considered as part of the modifications.

Final constructed site plans, drawings and maps (including detailed storm water
outfall/culvert configurations).

2.4.2 Specific Best Management Practices. The BMP Plan must establish specific BMPs or other
measures to achieve the objectives under Permit Part 2.3 and which ensure that the following
specific requirements are met.

24.2.1

Solids, sludges, or other pollutants removed in the course of treatment or control of water
and wastewaters must be disposed of in a manner such as to prevent any pollutant from
such materials from entering navigable waters.
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2.4.2.2 Ensure proper management of solid and hazardous waste in accordance with regulations
promulgated under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA). Management
practices required under RCRA regulations must be referenced in the BMP Plan.

2.4.2.3 Ensure proper management of materials in accordance with Spill Prevention, Control,
and Countermeasure (SPCC) plans under Section 311 of the CWA and 40 CFR Part 112.
The BMP Plan may incorporate any part of such plans into the BMP Plan by reference.

2.4.3 Annual review by the plant manager and BMP Committee: An annual review is required with a
certified statement that the BMP Plan fulfills the requirements set forth in this permit. The
statement is considered certified when it contains the dated signatures of each BMP Committee
member. The statement must be submitted to ADEC on or before January 31* of each year.

2.5 Documentation

The permittee must maintain a copy of the BMP Plan at the facility and make it available to EPA,
ADEC or an authorized representative upon request.

2.6 BMP Plan Modification

2.6.1 The permittee must amend the BMP Plan whenever there is a change in the facility or in the
operation of the facility which materially increases the generation of pollutants or their release or
potential release to surface waters.

2.6.2 The permittee must amend the BMP Plan whenever it is found to be ineffective in achieving the
general objective of preventing and minimizing the generation and the potential for the release of
pollutants from the facility to the waters of the United States and/or the specific requirements

above.

2.6.3 Any changes to the BMP Plan must be consistent with the objectives and specific requirements
listed above. All changes in the BMP Plan must be reported to ADEC with the annual
certification required under Permit Part 2.4.3, above.
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1.0

Appendix A of the Fact Sheet contains standard regulatory language that must be included in all APDES
permits. These requirements are based on the regulations and cannot be challenged in the context of an
individual APDES permit action. The standard regulatory language covers requirements such as monitoring,
recording, reporting requirements, compliance responsibilities, and other general requirements. Appendix A,
Standard Conditions is an integral and enforceable part of the permit. Failure to comply with a Standard
Condition in this Appendix constitutes a violation of the permit and is subject to enforcement.

Standard Conditions Applicable to All Permits

1.1 Contact Information and Addresses

1.1.1 Permitting Program

Documents, reports, and plans required under the permit and Appendix A are to be sent to the
following address:

State of Alaska
Department of Environmental Conservation
Division of Water
Wastewater Discharge Authorization Program
555 Cordova Street
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Telephone (907) 269-6285
Fax (907) 269-7508
Email: DEC.Water.WQPermit@alaska.gov

1.1.2 Compliance and Enforcement Program

Documents and reports required under the permit and Appendix A relating to compliance are to be
sent to the following address:

State of Alaska
Department of Environmental Conservation
Division of Water

Compliance and Enforcement Program

555 Cordova Street
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
Telephone Nationwide (877) 569-4114
Anchorage Area / International (907) 269-4114
Fax (907) 269-4604
Email: dec-wqreporting@alaska.gov

1.2 Duty to Comply

A permittee shall comply with all conditions of the permittee’s APDES permit. Any permit
noncompliance constitutes a violation of 33 U.S.C 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act) and state law and is
grounds for enforcement action including termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification of a
permit, or denial of a permit renewal application. A permittee shall comply with effluent standards or
prohibitions established under 33 U.S.C. 1317(a) for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the
regulations that establish those effluent standards or prohibitions even if the permit has not yet been
modified to incorporate the requirement.
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1.3
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1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

Duty to Reapply

If a permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by this permit after its expiration date, the
permittee must apply for and obtain a new permit. In accordance with 18 AAC 83.105(b), a permittee
with a currently effective permit shall reapply by submitting a new application at least 180 days before
the existing permit expires, unless the Department has granted the permittee permission to submit an
application on a later date. However, the Department will not grant permission for an application to be
submitted after the expiration date of the existing permit.

Need to Halt or Reduce Activity Not a Defense

In an enforcement action, a permittee may not assert as a defense that compliance with the conditions
of the permit would have made it necessary for the permittee to halt or reduce the permitted activity.

Duty to Mitigate

A permittee shall take all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of this
permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the environment.

Proper Operation and Maintenance

1.6.1 A permittee shall at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and systems of
treatment and control and related appurtenances that the permittee installs or uses to achieve
compliance with the conditions of the permit. The permittee’s duty to operate and maintain
properly includes using adequate laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance
procedures. However, a permittee is not required to operate back-up or auxiliary facilities or
similar systems that a permittee installs unless operation of those facilities is necessary to
achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit.

1.6.2 Operation and maintenance records shall be retained and made available at the site.

Permit Actions

A permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause as provided in

18 AAC 83.130. If a permittee files a request to modify, revoke and reissue, or terminate a permit, or
gives notice of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance, the filing or notice does not stay any
permit condition.

Property Rights
A permit does not convey any property rights or exclusive privilege.

Duty to Provide Information

A permittee shall, within a reasonable time, provide to the Department any information that the
Department requests to determine whether a permittee is in compliance with the permit, or whether
cause exists to modify, revoke and reissue, or terminate the permit. A permittee shall also provide to the
Department, upon request, copies of any records the permittee is required to keep under the permit.
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1.10 Inspection and Entry

A permittee shall allow the Department, or an authorized representative, including a contractor acting

as a representative of the Department, at reasonable times and on presentation of credentials

establishing authority and any other documents required by law, to:

1.10.1 Enter the premises where a permittee’s regulated facility or activity is located or conducted,
or where permit conditions require records to be kept;

1.10.2 Have access to and copy any records that permit conditions require the permittee to keep;

1.10.3 Inspect any facilities, equipment, including monitoring and control equipment, practices, or
operations regulated or required under a permit; and

1.10.4 Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location for the purpose of assuring
permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act).

1.11 Monitoring and Records

A permittee must comply with the following monitoring and recordkeeping conditions:

1.11.1 Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring must be representative of
the monitored activity.

1.11.2 The permittee shall retain records in Alaska of all monitoring information for at least five

years, or longer at the Department’s request at any time, from the date of the sample,
measurement, report, or application. Monitoring records required to be kept include:

11121

1.11.2.2 All original strip chart recordings or other forms of data approved by the

1.11.2.3
1.11.2.4
1.11.25
1.11.2.6
1.11.2.7
1.11.2.8

All calibration and maintenance records,

Department for continuous monitoring instrumentation,

All reports required by a permit,

Records of all data used to complete the application for a permit,
Field logbooks or visual monitoring logbooks,

Quality assurance chain of custody forms,

Copies of discharge monitoring reports, and

A copy of this APDES permit.

1.11.3 Records of monitoring information must include:

1.11.31
1.11.3.2

1.11.3.3
1.11.34
1.11.35
1.11.3.6

The date, exact place, and time of any sampling or measurement;

The name(s) of any individual(s) who performed the sampling or
measurement(s);

The date(s) and time any analysis was performed;

The name(s) of any individual(s) who performed any analysis;
Any analytical technique or method used; and

The results of the analysis.

1.11.4 Monitoring Procedures

Analyses of pollutants must be conducted using test procedures approved under

40 CFR Part 136, adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010, for pollutants with approved test

procedures, and using test procedures specified in the permit for pollutants without

approved methods.
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1.12 Signature Requirement and Penalties

1121

1.12.2

1.12.3

1.124

1.125

Any application, report, or information submitted to the Department in compliance with a
permit requirement must be signed and certified in accordance with 18 AAC 83.385. Any
person who knowingly makes any false material statement, representation, or certification in
any application, record, report, or other document filed or required to be maintained under a
permit, or who knowingly falsifies, tampers with, or renders inaccurate any monitoring
device or method required to be maintained under this permit shall, upon conviction, be
subject to penalties under 33 U.S.C. 1319(c)(4), AS 12.55.035(c)(1)(B), (c)(2), and (c)(3)
and AS 46.03.790(g).

In accordance with 18 AAC 83.385, an APDES permit application must be signed as
follows:

1.12.2.1 For a corporation, by a responsible corporate officer.

1.12.2.2 For a partnership or sole proprietorship, by the general partner or the proprietor,
respectively.

1.12.2.3 For a municipality, state, federal, or other public agency, by either a principal
executive officer or ranking elected official.

Any report required by an APDES permit, and a submittal with any other information
requested by the Department, must be signed by a person described in Appendix A,
Part 1.12.2, or by a duly authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly
authorized representative only if:

1.12.3.1 The authorization is made in writing by a person described in Appendix A,
Part 1.12.2;

1.12.3.2 The authorization specifies either an individual or a position having
responsibility for the overall operation of the regulated facility or activity,
including the position of plant manager, operator of a well or a well field,
superintendent, or position of equivalent responsibility; or an individual or
position having overall responsibility for environmental matters for the
company; and

1.12.3.3 The written authorization is submitted to the Department to the Permitting
Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

If an authorization under Appendix A, Part 1.12.3 is no longer effective because a different
individual or position has responsibility for the overall operation of the facility, a new
authorization satisfying the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12.3 must be submitted to
the Department before or together with any report, information, or application to be signed
by an authorized representative.

Any person signing a document under Appendix A, Part 1.12.2 or Part 1.12.3 shall certify as
follows:

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all attachments were prepared under
my direction or supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified
personnel properly gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry of
the person or persons who manage the system, or those persons directly responsible for
gathering the information, the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and
belief, true, accurate, and complete. | am aware that there are significant penalties for
submitting false information, including the possibility of fine and imprisonment for
knowing violations."
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1.13 Proprietary or Confidential Information

1.13.1 A permit applicant or permittee may assert a claim of confidentiality for proprietary or
confidential business information by stamping the words “confidential business
information” on each page of a submission containing proprietary or confidential business
information. The Department will treat the stamped submissions as confidential if the
information satisfies the test in 40 CFR §2.208, adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010, and
is not otherwise required to be made public by state law.

1.13.2 A claim of confidentiality under Appendix A, Part 1.13.1 may not be asserted for the name
and address of any permit applicant or permittee, a permit application, a permit, effluent
data, sewage sludge data, and information required by APDES or NPDES application forms
provided by the Department, whether submitted on the forms themselves or in any
attachments used to supply information required by the forms.

1.13.3 A permittee’s claim of confidentiality authorized under Appendix A, Part 1.13.1 is not
waived if the Department provides the proprietary or confidential business information to
the EPA or to other agencies participating in the permitting process. The Department will
supply any information obtained or used in the administration of the state APDES program
to the EPA upon request under 40 CFR 8123.41, as revised as of July 1, 2005. When
providing information submitted to the Department with a claim of confidentiality to the
EPA, the Department will notify the EPA of the confidentiality claim. If the Department
provides the EPA information that is not claimed to be confidential, the EPA may make the
information available to the public without further notice.

1.14 Oil and Hazardous Substance Liability

Nothing in this permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any action or relieve a permittee
from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be subject to under
state laws addressing oil and hazardous substances.

1.15 Cultural and Paleontological Resources

1.16

If cultural or paleontological resources are discovered because of this disposal activity, work that
would disturb such resources is to be stopped, and the Office of History and Archaeology, a Division
of Parks and Outdoor Recreation of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources
(http://www.dnr.state.ak.us/parks/oha/), is to be notified immediately at (907) 269-8721.

Fee
A permittee must pay the appropriate permit fee described in 18 AAC 72.

1.17 Other Legal Obligations

This permit does not relieve the permittee from the duty to obtain any other necessary permits from the
Department or from other local, state, or federal agencies and to comply with the requirements
contained in any such permits. All activities conducted and all plan approvals implemented by the
permittee pursuant to the terms of this permit shall comply with all applicable local, state, and federal
laws and regulations.
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2.0 Special Reporting Obligations

2.1 Planned Changes

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

211

212

2.1.3

The permittee shall give notice to the Department as soon as possible of any planned
physical alteration or addition to the permitted facility if:

2.1.1.1  The alteration or addition may make the facility a “new source” under one or
more of the criteria in 18 AAC 83.990(44); or

2.1.1.2  The alteration or addition could significantly change the nature or increase the
quantity of pollutants discharged if those pollutants are not subject to effluent
limitations in the permit or to notification requirements under 18 AAC 83.610.

If the proposed changes are subject to plan review, then the plans must be submitted at least
30 days before implementation of changes (see 18 AAC 15.020 and 18 AAC 72 for plan
review requirements). Written approval is not required for an emergency repair or routine
maintenance.

Written notice must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

Anticipated Noncompliance

2.2.1

2.2.2

Transfers

231

2.3.2

A permittee shall give seven days’ notice to the Department before commencing any
planned change in the permitted facility or activity that may result in noncompliance with
permit requirements.

Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in
Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

A permittee may not transfer a permit for a facility or activity to any person except after
notice to the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.150. The Department may modify
or revoke and reissue the permit to change the name of the permittee and incorporate such
other requirements under 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act) or state law.

Written notice must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

Compliance Schedules

24.1

24.2

A permittee must submit progress or compliance reports on interim and final requirements in
any compliance schedule of a permit no later than 14 days following the scheduled date of
each requirement.

Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in
Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

Corrective Information

251

2.5.2

If a permittee becomes aware that it failed to submit a relevant fact in a permit application or
submitted incorrect information in a permit application or in any report to the Department,
the permittee shall promptly submit the relevant fact or the correct information.

Information must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.
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2.6 Bypass of Treatment Facilities
2.6.1 Prohibition of Bypass

Bypass is prohibited. The Department may take enforcement action against a permittee for any
bypass, unless:

2.6.1.1  The bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal injury, or severe
property damage;

2.6.1.2  There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, including use of auxiliary
treatment facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal
periods of equipment downtime. However, this condition is not satisfied if the
permittee, in the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment, should have
installed adequate back-up equipment to prevent a bypass that occurred during
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and

2.6.1.3  The permittee provides notice to the Department of a bypass event in the
manner, as appropriate, under Appendix A, Part 2.6.2.

2.6.2 Notice of bypass

2.6.2.1 For an anticipated bypass, the permittee submits notice at least 10 days before
the date of the bypass. The Department may approve an anticipated bypass, after
considering its adverse effects, if the Department determines that it will meet the
conditions of Appendix A, Parts 2.6.1.1 and 2.6.1.2.

2.6.2.2  For an unanticipated bypass, the permittee submits 24-hour notice, as required in
18 AAC 83.410(f) and Appendix A, Part 3.4, Twenty-four Hour Reporting.

2.6.2.3  Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program
address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

2.6.3 Notwithstanding Appendix A, Part 2.6.1, a permittee may allow a bypass that:
2.6.3.1  Does not cause an effluent limitation to be exceeded, and
2.6.3.2 Is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation.

2.7 Upset Conditions

2.7.1 Inany enforcement action for noncompliance with technology-based permit effluent
limitations, a permittee may claim upset as an affirmative defense. A permittee seeking to
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof to show that the requirements of
Appendix A, Part 2.7.2 are met.

2.7.2 To establish the affirmative defense of upset, the permittee must demonstrate, through
properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant evidence that:

2.7.2.1  Anupset occurred and the permittee can identify the cause or causes of the
upset;

2.7.2.2  The permitted facility was at the time being properly operated,;

2.7.2.3  The permittee submitted 24-hour notice of the upset, as required in
18 AAC 83.410(f) and Appendix A, Part 3.4, Twenty-four Hour Reporting; and

2.7.2.4  The permittee complied with any mitigation measures required under
18 AAC 83.405(e) and Appendix A, Part 1.5, Duty to Mitigate.
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2.7.3 Any determination made in administrative review of a claim that noncompliance was caused
by upset, before an action for noncompliance is commenced, is not final administrative
action subject to judicial review.

2.8 Existing Manufacturing, Commercial, Mining, and Silvicultural Discharges

2.8.1 In addition to the reporting requirements under 18 AAC 83.410, an existing manufacturing,
commercial, mining, and silvicultural discharger shall notify the Department as soon as that
discharger knows or has reason to believe that any activity has occurred or will occur that
would result in:

2.8.1.1 The discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of any toxic pollutant that is not
limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following
notification levels:

28.1.1.1 One hundred micrograms per liter (100 pg/L);

2.8.1.1.2 Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 pg/L) for acrolein and
acrylonitrile, 500 micrograms per liter (500 pg/L) for 2,4-dinitrophenol
and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol, and one milligram per liter (1 mg/L)
for antimony;

2.8.1.1.3 Five times the maximum concentration value reported for that pollutant in
the permit application in accordance with 18 AAC 83.310(c)-(g); or

28.1.1.4 The level established by the Department in accordance with
18 AAC 83.445.

2.8.1.2  Any discharge, on a non-routine or infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant that is
not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the
following natification levels:

28.1.2.1 Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 pg/L);
2.8.1.2.2 One milligram per liter (1 mg/L) for antimony;

2.8.1.2.3 Ten times the maximum concentration value reported for that pollutant in
the permit application in accordance with 18 AAC 83.310(c)-(g); or

28.1.2.4 The level established by the Department in accordance with
18 AAC 83.445.

3.0 Monitoring, Recording, and Reporting Requirements

3.1 Representative Sampling

A permittee must collect effluent samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit before
discharge into the receiving waters. Samples and measurements must be representative of the volume
and nature of the monitored activity or discharge.

3.2 Reporting of Monitoring Results
At intervals specified in the permit, monitoring results must be reported on the EPA discharge monitoring
report (DMR) form, as revised as of March 1999, adopted by reference.

3.2.1 Monitoring results shall be summarized each month on the DMR or an approved equivalent
report. The permittee must submit reports monthly postmarked by the 20" day of the
following month.
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3.2.2 The permittee must sign and certify all DMRs and all other reports in accordance with the
requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12, Signatory Requirements and Penalties. All signed
and certified legible original DMRs and all other documents and reports must be submitted
to the Department at the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A,
Part 1.1.2.

3.2.3 If, during the period when this permit is effective, the Department makes available
electronic reporting, the permittee may, as an alternative to the requirements of Appendix A,
Part 3.2.2, submit monthly DMRs electronically by the 20" day of the following month in
accordance with guidance provided by the Department. The permittee must certify all DMRs
and other reports, in accordance with the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12, Signatory
Requirements and Penalties. The permittee must retain the legible originals of these
documents and make them available to the Department upon request.

3.3 Additional Monitoring by Permittee

If the permittee monitors any pollutant more frequently than the permit requires using test procedures
approved in 40 CFR Part 136, adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010, or as specified in this permit, the
results of that additional monitoring must be included in the calculation and reporting of the data
submitted in the DMR required by Appendix A, Part 3.2. All limitations that require averaging of
measurements must be calculated using an arithmetic means unless the Department specifies another
method in the permit. Upon request by the Department, the permittee must submit the results of any
other sampling and monitoring regardless of the test method used.

3.4 Twenty-four Hour Reporting

A permittee shall report any noncompliance event that may endanger health or the environment as
follows:

3.4.1 A report must be made:

3.4.1.1  Orally within 24 hours after the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances,
and

3.4.1.2  Inwriting within five days after the permittee becomes aware of the
circumstances.

3.4.2 A report must include the following information:

3.4.2.1 A description of the noncompliance and its causes, including the estimated
volume or weight and specific details of the noncompliance;

3.4.2.2  The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times;

3.4.2.3 If the noncompliance has not been corrected, a statement regarding the
anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue; and

3.4.2.4  Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent reoccurrence of the
noncompliance.

3.4.3 An event that must be reported within 24 hours includes:

3.4.3.1 Anunanticipated bypass that exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit (see
Appendix A, Part 2.6, Bypass of Treatment Facilities).

3.4.3.2  An upset that exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit (see Appendix A,
Part 2.7, Upset Conditions).

3.4.3.3 Aviolation of a maximum daily discharge limitation for any of the pollutants
listed in the permit as requiring 24-hour reporting.
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4.0

3.4.4 The Department may waive the written report on a case-by-case basis for reports under
Appendix A, Part 3.4 if the oral report has been received within 24 hours of the permittee
becoming aware of the noncompliance event.

3.4.5 The permittee may satisfy the written reporting submission requirements of Appendix A,
Part 3.4 by submitting the written report via e-mail, if the following conditions are met:

3.45.1 The Noncompliance Notification Form or equivalent form is used to report the
noncompliance;

3.4.5.2  The written report includes all the information required under Appendix A,
Part 3.4.2;

3.4.5.3  The written report is properly certified and signed in accordance with Appendix
A, Parts 1.12.3and 1.12.5;;

3.4.5.4  The written report is scanned as a PDF (portable document format) document
and transmitted to the Department as an attachment to the e-mail; and

3.45.5 The permittee retains in the facility file the original signed and certified written
report and a printed copy of the conveying email.

3.4.6 The e-mail and PDF written report will satisfy the written report submission requirements of
this permit provided the e-mail is received by the Department within five days after the time
the permittee becomes aware of the noncompliance event and the e-mail and written report
satisfy the criteria of Part 3.4.5. The e-mail address to report noncompliance is:
dec-wqgreporting@alaska.gov

3.5 Other Noncompliance Reporting

A permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance not required to be reported under Appendix A,
Parts 2.4 (Compliance Schedules), 3.3 (Additional Monitoring by Permittee), and 3.4 (Twenty-four
Hour Reporting) at the time the permittee submits monitoring reports under Appendix A, Part 3.2
(Reporting of Monitoring Results). A report of noncompliance under this part must contain the
information listed in Appendix A, Part 3.4.2 and be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program
address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

Penalties for Violations of Permit Conditions

Alaska laws allow the State to pursue both civil and criminal actions concurrently. The following is a
summary of Alaska law. Permittees should read the applicable statutes for further substantive and
procedural details.

4.1 Civil Action

Under AS 46.03.760(e), a person who violates or causes or permits to be violated a regulation, a lawful
order of the Department, or a permit, approval, or acceptance, or term or condition of a permit,
approval or acceptance issued under the program authorized by AS 46.03.020 (12) is liable, in a civil
action, to the State for a sum to be assessed by the court of not less than $500 nor more than $100,000
for the initial violation, nor more than $10,000 for each day after that on which the violation continues,
and that shall reflect, when applicable:

4.1.1 Reasonable compensation in the nature of liquated damages for any adverse environmental
effects caused by the violation, that shall be determined by the court according to the
toxicity, degradability, and dispersal characteristics of the substance discharged, the
sensitivity of the receiving environment, and the degree to which the discharge degrades
existing environmental quality;
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4.1.2

413

4.1.4

Reasonable costs incurred by the State in detection, investigation, and attempted correction
of the violation;

The economic savings realized by the person in not complying with the requirements for
which a violation is charged; and

The need for an enhanced civil penalty to deter future noncompliance.

4.2 Injunctive Relief

421

4.2.2

Under AS 46.03.820, the Department can order an activity presenting an imminent or
present danger to public health or that would be likely to result in irreversible damage to the
environment be discontinued. Upon receipt of such an order, the activity must be
immediately discontinued.

Under AS 46.03.765, the Department can bring an action in Alaska Superior Court seeking
to enjoin ongoing or threatened violations for Department-issued permits and Department
statutes and regulations.

4.3 Criminal Action

Under AS 46.03.790(h), a person is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if the person negligently:

43.1
4.3.2
4.3.3

434

4.3.5

Violates a regulation adopted by the Department under AS 46.03.020(12);
Violates a permit issued under the program authorized by AS 46.03.020(12);

Fails to provide information or provides false information required by a regulation adopted
under AS 46.03.020(12);

Makes a false statement, representation, or certification in an application, notice, record,
report, permit, or other document filed, maintained, or used for purposes of compliance with
a permit issued under or a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12); or

Renders inaccurate a monitoring device or method required to be maintained by a permit
issued or under a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12).

4.4 Other Fines

Upon conviction of a violation of a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12), a defendant who is not
an organization may be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than $10,000 for each separate violation
(AS 46.03.790(g)). A defendant that is an organization may be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding
the greater of: (1) $200,00; (2) three times the pecuniary gain realized by the defendant as a result of
the offense; or (3) three times the pecuniary damage or loss caused by the defendant to another, or the
property of another, as a result of the offense (AS 12.55.035(c)(B), (c)(2), and (c)(3)).
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APPENDIX B

The following acronyms are common terms that may be found in an Alaska Pollutant Discharge Elimination
System (APDES) permit.

18 AAC 15

18 AAC 70

18 AAC 72

18 AAC 83

Alaska Administrative Code. Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 15:
Administrative Procedures

Alaska Administrative Code. Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 70: Water
Quality Standards

Alaska Administrative Code. Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 72: Wastewater
Disposal

Alaska Administrative Code. Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 83: Alaska
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System

All chapters of Alaska Administrative Code, Title 18 are available at the Alaska Administrative Code database
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac

40 CFR
AAC
ACMP
ADEC
Ag

Al

As
APDES
AS

AS 46.03

BODs
BMP
Cd
CFR
Cr+3
Cr+6
Cu
CWA
DMR
DO
EPA
FC

Fe

Code of Federal Requlations Title 40: Protection of Environment

Alaska Administrative Code

Alaska Coastal Management Program

Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
Silver

Aluminum

Arsenic

Alaska Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
Alaska Statutes

Alaska Statutes Title 46, Chapter 03: Environmental Conservation. Available at
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/default.ntm

Biochemical Oxygen Demand, 5-day
Best Management Practice

Cadmium

Code of Federal Regulations
Chromium (111) or Trivalent Chromium
Chromium (V1) or Hexavalent Chromium
Copper

Clean Water Act

Discharge Monitoring Report
Dissolved Oxygen

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Fecal Coliform Bacteria

Iron
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GPD or gpd
GPY or gpy
Hg

ICys

I/

LCso
MDL
mg/L
MGD or mgd
ML
MLLW
MZ
N/A

Ni
NOEC
Pb
POTW
QA
QA/QC
QAPP
QC

RL

Se

SIU

SuU

TIE
TRC
TRE
TSS
TUc
Hg/L
U.S.C.
WQS
WWTF
Zn

APPENDIX B
Gallons per day

Gallons per year

Mercury

Inhibition Concentration 25%
Infiltration and Inflow

Lethal Concentration 50%
Method Detection Limit
Milligrams per Liter

Million gallons per day

Minimum Level

Mean Lower Low Water

Mixing Zone

Not Applicable

Nickel

No Observed Effect Concentration
Lead

Publicly Owned Treatment Works
Quiality Assurance

Quality Assurance/Quality Control
Quality Assurance Project Plan
Quality Control

Reporting Limit

Selenium

Significant Industrial User
Standard Units

Toxicity Identification Evaluation
Total Residual Chlorine

Toxicity Reduction Evaluation
Total Suspended Solids

Toxic Unit, Chronic

Micrograms per Liter

United States Code

Water Quality Standards
Wastewater Treatment Facility
Zinc
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APPENDIX C

The following are common definitions of terms associated with APDES permits. Not all the terms listed may
appear in a permit. Consult the footnote references for a complete list of terms and definitions.

Alaska Pollutant
Discharge Elimination
System (APDES)?
Annual

Average

Average Monthly
Discharge Limitation®

Best Management
Practices (BMPs)?

Biochemical Oxygen
Demand (BOD)*

Boundary”
Bypass®
Clean Water Act

(CWA)?

Commissioner?

Contact Recreation®

Criterion®

Daily Discharge®

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990
c) See 18 AAC 72.990
d) See 40 CFR Part 136

The state’s program, approved by EPA under 33 U.S.C. 1342(b), for issuing,
modifying, revoking and reissuing, terminating, monitoring and enforcing permits and
imposing and enforcing pretreatment requirements under 33 U.S.C. 1317, 1328, 1342,
and 1345

Annual shall be once per calendar year

An arithmetic mean obtained by adding quantities and dividing the sum by the number
of quantities

The highest allowable average of “daily discharges” over a calendar month calculated
as the sum of all “daily discharges” measured during a calendar month divided by the
number of “daily discharges” measured for that month

Schedules of activities, prohibitions of practices, maintenance procedures, and other
management practices to prevent or reduce the pollution of waters of the United States.
BMPs also include treatment requirements, operating procedures, and practices to
control plant site runoff, spillage or leaks, sludge or waste disposal, or drainage from
raw material storage areas.

The amount, in milligrams per liter, of oxygen used in the biochemical oxidation of
organic matter in five days at 20°C

Line or landmark that serves to clarify, outline, or mark a limit, border, or interface
The intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of a treatment facility

Means the federal law codified at 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387, also referred to as the Federal
Water Pollution Control Act or Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of
1972

The commissioner of the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation or the
commissioner’s designee

Activities in which there is direct and intimate contact with water. Contact recreation
includes swimming, diving, and water skiing. Contact recreation does not include
wading.

A set concentration or limit of a water quality parameter that, when not exceeded, will
protect an organism, a population of organisms, a community of organisms, or a
prescribed water use with a reasonable degree of safety. A criterion might be a
narrative statement instead of a numerical concentration or limit.

The discharge of a pollutant measured during a calendar day or any 24-hour period that
reasonably represents the calendar day for the purposes of sampling. For pollutants
measured in units of mass, the “daily discharge” is calculated as the total mass of the
pollutant discharged over the day. For pollutants with a limitation expressed in other

e) See EPA Technical Support Document
f) See Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater 18" Edition
g) See EPA Permit Writers Manual
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Datum

Department®
Director®

Discharge®

Discharge of a
Pollutant?

Dissolved Oxygen
(DO)’

Domestic Wastewater®

Effluent”

Estimated

Fecal Coliform Bacteria

(FC)°

Geometric Mean

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990
¢) See 18 AAC 72.990
d) See 40 CFR Part 136

APPENDIX C

units of measurement, the “daily discharge” is calculated as the average measurement
of the pollutant over the day.

A datum defines the position of the spheroid, a mathematical representation of the
earth, relative to the center of the earth. It provides a frame of reference for measuring
locations on the surface of the earth by defining the origin and orientation of latitude
and longitude lines.

The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation

The commissioner or the commissioner’s designee assigned to administer the APDES
program or a portion of it, unless the context identifies an EPA director

When used without qualification, discharge means the discharge of a pollutant

Any addition of any pollutant or combination of pollutants to waters of the United
States from any point source or to waters of the contiguous zone or the ocean from any
point source other than a vessel or other floating craft that is being used as a means of
transportation. Discharge includes any addition of pollutants into waters of the United
States from surface runoff that is collected or channeled by humans; discharges through
pipes, sewers, or other conveyances owned by a state, municipality, or other person that
do not lead to a treatment works; discharges through pipes, sewers, or other
conveyances leading into privately owned treatment works; and does not include an
addition of pollutants by any indirect discharger.

The concentration of oxygen in water as determined either by the Winkler (iodometric)
method and its modifications or by the membrane electrode method

The oxygen dissolved in water or wastewater and usually expressed in milligrams per
liter or percent saturation

Waterborne human wastes or graywater derived from dwellings, commercial buildings,
institutions, or similar structures. "Domestic wastewater" includes the contents of
individual removable containers used to collect and temporarily store human wastes.

The segment of a wastewater stream that follows the final step in a treatment process
and precedes discharge of the wastewater stream to the receiving environment

A way to estimate the discharge volume. Approvable estimations include, but are not
limited to, the number of persons per day at the facility, volume of potable water
produced per day, lift station run time, etc.

Bacteria that can ferment lactose at 44.5° + 0.2°C to produce gas in a multiple tube
procedure. Fecal coliform bacteria also means all bacteria that produce blue colonies in

a membrane filtration procedure within 24 + 2 hours of incubation at 44.5° + 0.2°C in
an M-FC broth.

The geometric mean is the N™ root of the product of N. All sample results of zero will
use a value of 1 for calculation of the geometric mean. Example geometric mean

calculation: 4/12x23x34x990 = 55.

e) See EPA Technical Support Document
f) See Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater 18" Edition
g) See EPA Permit Writers Manual
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Grab Sample
Influent

Inhibition
Concentration 25%
(IC25)°

Lethal Concentration
50% (LCsp)°

Maximum Daily
Discharge Limitation®

Mean®

Measured

Method Detection Limit
(MDL)"

Micrograms per Liter
(ng/L)"°

Milligrams per Liter
(mg/L)°

Minimum Level (ML)®

Mixing Zone®
Month

Monthly Average

No Observed Effect

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990
¢) See 18 AAC 72.990
d) See 40 CFR Part 136

APPENDIX C

A single instantaneous sample collected at a particular place and time that represents
the composition of wastewater only at that time and place

Untreated wastewater before it enters the first treatment process of a wastewater
treatment works

The point estimate of the toxicant concentration that would cause 25% reduction in a
nonlethal biological measurement of the test organisms, such as reproduction or growth

The point estimate of the toxicant that would be lethal to 50% of the test organisms
during a specific period

The highest allowable “daily discharge”

The average of values obtained over a specified period and, for fecal coliform analysis,
is computed as a geometric mean

The actual volume of wastewater discharged using appropriate mechanical or electronic
equipment to provide a totalized reading. Measure does not provide a recorded
measurement of instantaneous rates.

The minimum concentration of a substance (analyte) that can be measured and reported
with 99 percent confidence that the analyte concentration is greater than zero and is
determined from analysis of a sample in a given matrix containing the analyte

The concentration at which one millionth of a gram (10°® g) is found in a volume of one
liter

The concentration at which one thousandth of a gram (10 g) is found in a volume of
one liter. It is approximately equal to the unit “parts per million (ppm),” formerly of
common use.

The concentration at which the entire analytical system must give a recognizable signal
and an acceptable calibration point. The ML is the concentration in a sample that is
equivalent to the concentration of the lowest calibration standard analyzed by a specific
analytical procedure, assuming that all the method-specified sample weights, volumes,
and processing steps have been followed. This level is used as the compliance level if
the effluent limit is below it.

A volume of water adjacent to a discharge in which wastes discharged mix with the
receiving water

Month shall be the time period from the 1% of a calendar month to the last day in the
month

The average of daily discharges over a monitoring month calculated as the sum of all
daily discharges measured during a monitoring month divided by the number of daily
discharges measured during that month

The NOEC is the highest concentration of an effluent or a toxicant at which no adverse

e) See EPA Technical Support Document
f) See Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater 18" Edition
g) See EPA Permit Writers Manual
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Concentration (NOEC)®

Permittee

pH®

Primary Contact
Recreation

Principal Executive
Officer®

Pollutant?

Quiality Assurance
Project Plan (QAPP)

Quarter
Receiving Waterbody

Recorded

Report

Responsible Corporate
Officer®

Secondary Recreation®

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990
¢) See 18 AAC 72.990
d) See 40 CFR Part 136

APPENDIX C

effects are observed on the aquatic test organisms at a specific time of observation.
NOEC is determined using hypothesis testing.

A company, organization, association, entity, or person who is issued a wastewater
permit and is responsible for ensuring compliance, monitoring, and reporting as
required by the permit

A measure of the hydrogen ion concentration of water or wastewater; expressed as the
negative log of the hydrogen ion concentration in mg/L. A pH of 7 is neutral. A pH less
than 7 is acidic, and a pH greater than 7 is basic.

See Contact Recreation

The chief executive officer of the agency or a senior executive officer having
responsibility for the overall operations of a principal geographic unit of division of the
agency

Dredged spoil, solid waste, incinerator residue, filter backwash, sewage, garbage,
sewage sludge, munitions, chemical wastes, biological materials, radioactive materials
(except those regulated under 42 U.S.C. 2011), heat, wrecked or discarded equipment,
rock, sand, cellar dirt, and industrial, municipal, or agricultural waste discharged into
water

A system of procedures, checks, audits, and corrective actions to ensure that all
research design and performance, environmental monitoring and sampling, and other
technical and reporting activities are of the highest achievable quality

The time period of three months based on the calendar year beginning with January

Lakes, bays, sounds, ponds, impounding reservoirs, springs, wells, rivers, streams,
creeks, estuaries, marshes, inlets, straits, passages, canals, the Pacific Ocean, Gulf of
Alaska, Bering Sea, and Arctic Ocean, in the territorial limits of the state, and all other
bodies of surface water, natural or artificial, public or private, inland or coastal, fresh or
salt, which are wholly or partially in or bordering the state or under the jurisdiction of
the state. (See “Waters of the U.S.” at 18 AAC 83.990(77))

A permanent record using mechanical or electronic equipment to provide a totalized
reading, as well as a record of instantaneous readings

Report results of analysis

A president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-president of the corporation in charge of a
principal business function or any other person who performs similar policy or decision
making functions for the corporation

The Responsible Corporate Officer can also be the manager of one or more
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities if the requirements of
18 AAC 83.385(a)(1)(B)(i)-(iii) are met.

Activities in which incidental water use can occur. Secondary recreation includes
boating, camping, hunting, hiking, wading, and recreational fishing. Secondary contact

e) See EPA Technical Support Document
f) See Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater 18" Edition
g) See EPA Permit Writers Manual

C-4



Severe Property
Damage®

Sheen®

Significant Industrial
User (SIU)®

Suspended Solids

Total Suspended Solids
(TSS)?

Toxic Unit, Chronic
(TUc)®

Twice per year

Upset?

Wastewater Treatment

Waters of the United
States or Waters of the
U.S.

Water Recreation®
Week

a) See 18 AAC 83

b) See 18 AAC 70.990
¢) See 18 AAC 72.990
d) See 40 CFR Part 136

APPENDIX C

recreation does not include fish consumption.

Substantial physical damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities which
causes them to become inoperable, or substantial and permanent loss of natural
resources which can reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a bypass. Severe
property damage does not mean economic loss caused by delays in production.

An iridescent appearance on the water surface

An indirect discharger that is the focus of control efforts under the national
pretreatment program; includes all indirect dischargers subject to national categorical
pretreatment standards, and all other indirect dischargers that contribute 25,000 gpd or
more of process wastewater, or which make up five percent or more of the hydraulic or
organic loading to the municipal treatment plant, subject to certain exceptions [40 CFR
$403.3(1)].

Insoluble solids that either float on the surface of, or are in suspension in, water,
wastewater, or other liquids. The quantity of material removed from wastewater in a
laboratory test, as prescribed in Sandard Methods for the Examination of Water and
Wastewater and referred to as nonfilterable.

A measure of the filterable solids present in a sample, as determined by the method
specified in 40 CFR Part 136

The reciprocal of the effluent concentration that causes no observable effect on the test
organisms by the end of the chronic exposure period (i.e., 100/NOEC)

Shall consist of two time periods during the calendar year: October through April and
May through September

An exceptional incident in which there is unintentional and temporary noncompliance
with technology-based effluent limitations because of factors beyond the reasonable
control of the permittee. An upset does not include noncompliance to the extent caused
by operational error, improperly designed treatment facilities, inadequate treatment
facilities, lack of preventive maintenance, or careless or improper operation.

Any process to which wastewater is subjected in order to remove or alter its
objectionable constituents and make it suitable for subsequent use or acceptable for
discharge to the environment

Has the meaning given in 18 AAC 83.990(77)

See contact recreation or secondary recreation
The time period of Sunday through Saturday

e) See EPA Technical Support Document
f) See Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater 18" Edition
g) See EPA Permit Writers Manual
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	1.0 LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS
	1.1 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring – Outfall 001
	1.1.1 Outfall 001 Limitations and Monitoring
	1.1.2 The permittee must not discharge any floating solids, visible foam in other than trace amounts, or oily wastes that produce a sheen on the surface of the receiving water.  Daily visual monitoring is required.
	1.1.3 The pH must not be less than 6.5 standard units (s.u.) nor greater than 8.5 s.u.
	1.1.4 The turbidity measured in nephelometric turbidity units (NTU) must not be more than 5 NTUs above the natural condition. The natural condition sample take from the Goodpaster River at the point designated NPDES 001b must be taken within an hour of the effluent sample.
	1.1.5 The permittee must collect samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit prior to discharge into the receiving waters.
	1.1.6 The flow from Pond 1 into Pond 2 shall not exceed 25 times the flow from the treatment plant into Pond 2. Under extraordinary circumstances such as a system upset (Appendix A, Part 2.7) or unanticipated bypass (Appendix A, Part 2.6), ADEC may authorize an increased dilution ratio to mitigate the impacts of the upset or bypass on the Goodpaster River. In the event that no flow from the treatment plant was occurring, the dilution ratio would not apply after 72 hours of the last effluent from the treatment plant entering the ORTW because the flow from Pond 1 would not be diluting any flow from the treatment plant.
	1.1.7 Minimum Levels. For all effluent monitoring, the permittee must use methods (see Permit Part 3.3) that can achieve a minimum level (ML) less than the effluent limitation. A facility specific ML of 20 ug/L is the compliance level for cyanide with an MDL of 10 ug/L. For parameters that do not have effluent limitations, the permittee must use methods that can achieve MLs less than or equal to those specified in Table 5 (Permit Part 1.5.3).
	1.1.8 For purposes of reporting on the Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) for this permit only, for a single sample, if a value is less than the Method Detection Level (MDL), the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if a value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.”  For purposes of calculating monthly averages, zero may be assigned for values between less than the MDL, the {numeric value of the MDL} may be assigned for values between the MDL and the ML. If the average value is less than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if the average value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.” If a value is greater than the ML, the permittee must report and use the actual value.

	1.2 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring – Outfall 011
	1.2.1 Outfall 011 Limitations and Monitoring
	1.2.2 The pH must not be less than 6.0 s.u. nor greater than 9.0 s.u.
	1.2.3 Minimum Levels. For all effluent monitoring, the permittee must use methods (see Permit Part 3.3) that can achieve a minimum level (ML) less than the effluent limitation. For parameters that do not have effluent limitations, the permittee must use methods that can achieve MLs less than or equal to those specified in Table 5 (Permit Part 1.5.3).
	1.2.4 For purposes of reporting on the DMR for this permit only, for a single sample, if a value is less than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if a value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.” For purposes of calculating monthly averages, zero may be assigned for values less than the MDL, the {numeric value of the MDL} may be assigned for values between the MDL and the ML. If the average value is less than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if the average value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.” If a value is greater than the ML, the permittee must report and use the actual value.

	1.3 Effluent Limitations and Monitoring Requirements – Outfall 002
	1.3.1 Outfall 002 Limitations and Monitoring
	1.3.2 The permittee must not discharge any floating solids, visible foam in other than trace amounts, or oily wastes that produce a sheen on the surface of the receiving water.  Daily visual monitoring is required.
	1.3.3 The pH must not be less than 6.0 s.u. nor greater than 9.0 s.u.
	1.3.4 Dissolved Oxygen (DO) must be greater than 2 mg/L.
	1.3.5 Influent (prior to treatment) measures of BOD5 and TSS shall be done on a quarterly basis. From this information, percent removal shall be calculated and reported on the DMR in January, April, July, and October for the previous quarter..  The Permittee shall use the effluent sample taken at the same time as the influent sample when calculating percent removal.  If more than one influent sample is taken, the number of effluent samples corresponding to the number and timing of the influent samples must be used in the calculation.  If more than one sample is taken, the arithmetic mean of the influent samples and the arithmetic mean of the effluent samples shall be used in the calculation.  The formula to be used is: ((influent - effluent) / influent) x 100.  Percent removal shall meet or exceed 85% for both parameters. The minimum and the average shall be reported.
	1.3.6 The permittee must collect effluent samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit prior to discharge into the receiving waters.
	1.3.7 For purposes of reporting on the DMR for this permit only, for a single sample, if a value is less than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if a value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.”  For purposes of calculating monthly averages, zero may be assigned for values less than the MDL, the {numeric value of the MDL} may be assigned for values between the MDL and the ML.  If the average value is less than the MDL, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the MDL}” and if the average value is less than the ML, the permittee must report “less than {numeric value of the ML}.”  If a value is greater than the ML, the permittee must report and use the actual value.
	1.3.8 Signs must be placed on the riverbanks near the mixing zone and outfall line.  The signs must provide the identity and telephone numbers of the discharger; must inform the public that a mixing zone exists, that treated and disinfected wastewater is being discharged and that users of the area should exercise caution.

	1.4 Whole Effluent Toxicity Testing (WET) Requirements
	1.4.1 Toxicity testing must be conducted on grab sample of effluent.  In addition, a split of each sample collected must be analyzed for the chemical and physical parameters required in Permit Part 1.1 above.  The grab sample for toxicity testing should be of adequate size to accommodate the split sample.  When the timing of sample collection coincides with that of the sampling required in Permit Part 1.1, analysis of the split sample will fulfill the requirements of Permit Part 1.1 as well. 
	1.4.2 Chronic Test Species and Methods
	1.4.2.1 For Outfall 001, chronic tests must be conducted annually prior to August 1.  The effluent collected for toxicity testing must be collected at the same time as the receiving water surface water monitoring (see Permit Part 1.5.).
	1.4.2.2 The permittee must conduct short-term tests with the water flea, Ceriodaphnia dubia (survival and reproduction test), and the fathead minnow, Pimephales promelas (larval survival and growth test), for the first two suites of tests.  After this screening period, monitoring shall be conducted using the most sensitive species.  If no toxicity is observed in either species, testing shall be conducted on the fathead minnow.
	1.4.2.3 The presence of chronic toxicity must be determined as specified in Short-Term Methods for Estimating the Chronic Toxicity of Effluents and Receiving Waters to Freshwater Organisms, Fourth Edition, EPA/821-R-02-013, October 2002.
	1.4.2.4 Results must be reported in TUc (chronic toxic units), where TUc = 100/IC25.  See Permit Part 6.0 for a definition of IC25.

	1.4.3 Toxicity Triggers.   Since data does not exist to support the development of a WET limit at this time, a target level for chronic toxicity of 2 TUC shall apply for the purposes of determining compliance with paragraphs 1.4.5 and 1.4.6.
	1.4.4 Quality Assurance
	1.4.4.1 The toxicity testing on each organism must include a series of five test dilutions (100%, 75%, 50%, 25%, and 12.5%) and a control.
	1.4.4.2 All quality assurance criteria and statistical analyses used for chronic tests and reference toxicant tests must be in accordance with Short-Term Methods for Estimating the Chronic Toxicity of Effluents and Receiving Waters to Freshwater Organisms, Fourth Edition, EPA/821-R-02-013, October 2002, and individual test protocols.
	1.4.4.3 In addition to those quality assurance measures specified in the methodology, the following quality assurance procedures must be followed:
	1.4.4.3.1 If organisms are not cultured in-house, concurrent testing with reference toxicants must be conducted.  If organisms are cultured in-house, monthly reference toxicant testing is sufficient.  Reference toxicant tests must be conducted using the same test conditions as the effluent toxicity tests.
	1.4.4.3.2 If either of the reference toxicant tests or the effluent tests do not meet all test acceptability criteria as specified in the test methods manual, the permittee must re-sample and re-test within 14 days of receipt of the test results.
	1.4.4.3.3 Control and dilution water must be receiving water or lab water, as appropriate, as described in the manual.  If the dilution water used is different from the culture water, a second control, using culture water must also be used.  Receiving water may be used as control and dilution water upon notification of ADEC.  In no case shall water that has not met test acceptability criteria be used for either dilution or control.


	1.4.5  Accelerated Testing
	1.4.5.1 Initial Investigation. If the permittee demonstrates through an evaluation of facility operations that the cause of the exceedance is known and corrective actions have been implemented, only one accelerated test is necessary and the permittee would return to normal WET testing frequency. If toxicity exceeding the trigger is detected in this test, then the TRE requirements in Permit Part 1.4.6 shall apply, or 
	1.4.5.2 If chronic toxicity is detected above the triggers specified in paragraph 1.4.3 and no initial investigation is conducted or no cause is found then the permittee must conduct four more biweekly tests over an eight week period. This accelerated testing must be initiated within two weeks of receipt of the test results that indicate an exceedance.
	1.4.5.3 The permittee must notify ADEC of the exceedance in writing within two weeks of receipt of the test results. The notification must include the following information:
	1.4.5.3.1 A status report on any actions required by the permit, with a schedule for actions not yet completed.
	1.4.5.3.2 A description of any additional actions the permittee has taken or will take to investigate and correct the cause(s) of the toxicity.
	1.4.5.3.3 Where no actions have been taken, a discussion of the reasons for not taking action.

	1.4.5.4 If none of the four accelerated test exceed the toxicity trigger, the permittee may return to the normal testing frequency. If any of the four test exceed the trigger, then the TRE requirements in Permit Part 1.4.6, shall apply.

	1.4.6  Toxicity Reduction Evaluation (TRE) and Toxicity Identification Evaluation (TIE):
	1.4.6.1 If chronic toxicity triggers are exceeded during accelerated testing under Permit Part 1.4.5, the permittee must initiate a toxicity reduction evaluation (TRE) in accordance with Generalized Methodology for Conducting Industrial Toxicity Reduction Evaluations (EPA/600/2-88/070) within two weeks of the receipt of the test results showing an exceedance.  At a minimum, the TRE must include:
	1.4.6.1.1 Further actions to investigate and identify the cause of toxicity;
	1.4.6.1.2 Actions the permittee will take to mitigate the impact of the discharge and to prevent the recurrence of toxicity; and
	1.4.6.1.3 A schedule for these actions.

	1.4.6.2 If a TRE is initiated prior to completion of the accelerated testing, the accelerated testing schedule may be terminated, or used as necessary in performing the TRE. 
	1.4.6.3 The permittee may initiate a Toxicity Identification Evaluation (TIE) as part of the TRE process.  Any TIE must be performed in accordance with EPA guidance manuals, Toxicity Identification Evaluation; Characterization of Chronically Toxic Effluents, Phase I (EPA/600/6-91/005F), Methods for Aquatic Toxicity Identification Evaluations, Phase II: Toxicity Identification Procedures for Samples Exhibiting Acute and Chronic Toxicity (EPA/600/R-92/080), and Methods for Aquatic Toxicity Identification Evaluations, Phase III: Toxicity Confirmation Procedures for Samples Exhibiting Acute and Chronic Toxicity (EPA-600/R-92/081).

	1.4.7  Reporting
	1.4.7.1 The permittee must confirm on the DMR for the month of September that the toxicity test was conducted and whether any toxicity was found.  The full toxicity test results will be included in the annual report due March 1 of the following year, as required in Permit Part 1.5.6.
	1.4.7.2 The permittee must submit the results of any accelerated testing, under Permit Part 1.4.5, within 2 weeks of receipt of the results from the lab.  The full report must be submitted within 4 weeks of receipt of the results from the lab.  If an initial investigation indicates the source of toxicity and accelerated testing is unnecessary, the result of the investigation must be submitted with the DMR for the month following completion of the investigation.
	1.4.7.3 The report of toxicity test results must include all relevant information outlined in Section 10, Report Preparation, of Short-Term Methods for Estimating the Chronic Toxicity of Effluents and Receiving Waters to Freshwater Organisms, Fourth Edition, EPA/821-R-02-013, October 2002.  In addition to toxicity test results, the permittee must report:  dates of sample collection and initiation of each test; the toxicity triggers as defined in paragraph 1.4.3; flow rate at the time of sample collection; and the results of the monitoring required in Permit Part 1.1.


	1.5 Surface Water Monitoring
	1.5.1 The permittee must conduct surface water monitoring at the following monitoring stations:
	1.5.2 All ambient samples must be grab samples.
	1.5.3 All samples must be analyzed for the parameters listed in Table 4, below, to achieve minimum levels (MLs) that are equivalent to or less than those listed in Table 5, below, or the effluent limitations of the limited parameters in Tables 1 or 2.
	pH
	TSS
	Iron4
	DO
	Hardness
	Lead
	Conductivity
	Alkalinity
	Copper
	Temperature
	Cyanide, WAD
	Manganese4
	Turbidity
	Aluminum2
	Mercury
	Chlorides
	Antimony3
	Nickel
	Nitrates
	Arsenic
	Selenium2
	Sulfates
	Cadmium
	Silver
	TDS
	Chromium
	Zinc
	Footnotes:
	1.5.4 Quality assurance/quality control plans for all the monitoring must be documented in the Quality Assurance Plan required under Permit Part 1.6, “Quality Assurance Plan”.
	1.5.5 The permittee shall collect and analyze individually with whole body analyses a minimum of 10 juvenile chinook salmon in late fall prior to freeze up.  The permittee shall analyze and record the concentrations of arsenic, antimony, cadmium, copper, lead, nickel, selenium, silver, and mercury.  Samples of 10 juvenile chinook salmon per site should be collected at Stations SW01 and SW12 (corresponds to the baseline sampling effort).  This report, including electronic copies of the raw data from each sample, shall be submitted with the Annual Water Quality Monitoring Summary Report as described below in subpart 1.5.6.
	1.5.6 All monitoring results for a year must be included in an Annual Water Quality Monitoring Summary Report and submitted by March 1 of the following year. The report must include a presentation of the analytical results and an evaluation of the results.  The evaluation must include an electronic spreadsheet containing all historical data for both water quality and whole body analysis, a graphical presentation of the data at each monitoring station, a comparison of upstream and downstream monitoring results (to show any differences) and a comparison of monitoring results for each station over time (to show any trends).  The Annual Report may reference the monthly reports for QA/QC information.
	1.5.6.1 All monitoring results for a calendar year shall be reported in the Annual Water Quality Monitoring Summary report.  At a minimum, the report must include the following:  
	1.5.6.2 Dates of sample collection and analyses.
	1.5.6.3 Results of sample analysis.
	1.5.6.4 Relevant quality assurance/quality control (QA/QC) information.


	1.6 Quality Assurance Plan (QAP)
	1.6.1 The QAP must be designed to assist in planning for the collection and analysis of effluent and receiving water samples in support of the permit and in explaining data anomalies when they occur.
	1.6.2 Throughout all sample collection and analysis activities, the permittee must use the EPA-approved QA/QC and chain-of-custody procedures described in the most recent editions of Requirements for Quality Assurance Project Plans (EPA/QA/R-5) and Guidance for Quality Assurance Project Plans (EPA/QA/G-5).  The QAP must be prepared in the format which is specified in these documents.
	1.6.3 The permittee must amend the QAP whenever there is a modification in sample collection, sample analysis, or other procedure addressed by the QAP.
	1.6.4 Copies of the QAP must be kept on site and made available to EPA and/or ADEC upon request.


	2.0 BEST MANAGEMENT PRACTICES PLAN
	2.1 Purpose
	2.2 Development and Implementation Schedule
	2.3 Objectives
	2.3.1 The number and quantity of pollutants and the toxicity of effluent generated, discharged or potentially discharged at the facility must be minimized by the permittee to the extent feasible by managing each waste stream in the most appropriate manner.
	2.3.2 Under the BMP Plan and any Standard Operating Procedures included in the BMP Plan, the permittee must ensure proper operation and maintenance of water management and wastewater treatment systems.  BMP Plan elements must be developed in accordance with good engineering practices.
	2.3.3 Each facility component or system must be examined for its waste minimization opportunities and its potential for causing a release of significant amounts of pollutants to waters of the United States due to equipment failure, improper operation, natural phenomena such as rain or snowfall, etc.  The examination must include all normal operations and ancillary activities including material storage areas, storm water, in-plant transfer, material handling and process handling areas, loading or unloading operations, spillage or leaks, sludge and waste disposal, or drainage from raw material storage.

	2.4 Elements of the BMP Plan
	2.4.1 Plan Components
	2.4.1.1 Statement of BMP policy.  The BMP Plan must include a statement of management commitment to provide the necessary financial, staff, equipment, and training resources to develop and implement the BMP Plan on a continuing basis.
	2.4.1.2 Structure, functions, and procedures of the BMP Committee.  The BMP Plan must establish a BMP Committee responsible for developing, implementing, and maintaining the BMP Plan.
	2.4.1.3 Description of potential pollutant sources
	2.4.1.4 Risk identification and assessment
	2.4.1.5 Standard operating procedures to achieve the above objectives and specific best management practices (see below) and
	2.4.1.6 Reporting of BMP incidents.  The reports must include a description of the circumstances leading to the incident, corrective actions taken and recommended changes to operating and maintenance practices to prevent recurrence.  
	2.4.1.7 Materials compatibility
	2.4.1.8 Good housekeeping 
	2.4.1.9 Inspections
	2.4.1.10 Preventative maintenance and repair
	2.4.1.11 Security
	2.4.1.12 Employee training
	2.4.1.13 Recordkeeping and reporting
	2.4.1.14 Prior evaluation of any planned modifications to the facility to ensure that the requirements of the BMP plan are considered as part of the modifications.
	2.4.1.15 Final constructed site plans, drawings and maps (including detailed storm water outfall/culvert configurations).

	2.4.2 Specific Best Management Practices.   The BMP Plan must establish specific BMPs or other measures to achieve the objectives under Permit Part 2.3 and which ensure that the following specific requirements are met.
	2.4.2.1 Solids, sludges, or other pollutants removed in the course of treatment or control of water and wastewaters must be disposed of in a manner such as to prevent any pollutant from such materials from entering navigable waters.
	2.4.2.2 Ensure proper management of solid and hazardous waste in accordance with regulations promulgated under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA).  Management practices required under RCRA regulations must be referenced in the BMP Plan.
	2.4.2.3 Ensure proper management of materials in accordance with Spill Prevention, Control, and Countermeasure (SPCC) plans under Section 311 of the CWA and 40 CFR Part 112.  The BMP Plan may incorporate any part of such plans into the BMP Plan by reference.


	2.5 Documentation
	2.6 BMP Plan Modification
	2.6.1 The permittee must amend the BMP Plan whenever there is a change in the facility or in the operation of the facility which materially increases the generation of pollutants or their release or potential release to surface waters.
	2.6.2 The permittee must amend the BMP Plan whenever it is found to be ineffective in achieving the general objective of preventing and minimizing the generation and the potential for the release of pollutants from the facility to the waters of the United States and/or the specific requirements above.
	2.6.3 Any changes to the BMP Plan must be consistent with the objectives and specific requirements listed above.  All changes in the BMP Plan must be reported to ADEC with the annual certification required under Permit Part 2.4.3, above.


	Permit Appendix A - Std Conditons.pdf
	1.0 Standard Conditions Applicable to All Permits
	1.1 Contact Information and Addresses
	1.1.1 Permitting Program
	1.1.2 Compliance and Enforcement Program 

	1.2 Duty to Comply
	1.3 Duty to Reapply
	1.4 Need to Halt or Reduce Activity Not a Defense
	1.5 Duty to Mitigate
	1.6 Proper Operation and Maintenance 
	1.6.1 A permittee shall at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and systems of treatment and control and related appurtenances that the permittee installs or uses to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit. The permittee’s duty to operate and maintain properly includes using adequate laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures. However, a permittee is not required to operate backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems that a permittee installs unless operation of those facilities is necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit.
	1.6.2 Operation and maintenance records shall be retained and made available at the site.

	1.7 Permit Actions
	1.8 Property Rights
	1.9 Duty to Provide Information
	A permittee shall, within a reasonable time, provide to the Department any information that the Department requests to determine whether a permittee is in compliance with the permit, or whether cause exists to modify, revoke and reissue, or terminate the permit. A permittee shall also provide to the Department, upon request, copies of any records the permittee is required to keep under the permit. 

	1.10 Inspection and Entry
	1.10.1 Enter the premises where a permittee’s regulated facility or activity is located or conducted, or where permit conditions require records to be kept;
	1.10.2 Have access to and copy any records that permit conditions require the permittee to keep;
	1.10.3 Inspect any facilities, equipment, including monitoring and control equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under a permit; and
	1.10.4 Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location for the purpose of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act). 

	1.11 Monitoring and Records
	1.11.1 Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring must be representative of the monitored activity.
	1.11.2 The permittee shall retain records in Alaska of all monitoring information for at least five (was 3 and changed to 5) years, or longer at the Department’s request at any time, from the date of the sample, measurement, report, or application. Monitoring records required to be kept include:
	1.11.2.1 All calibration and maintenance records,
	1.11.2.2 All original strip chart recordings or other forms of data approved by the Department for continuous monitoring instrumentation, 
	1.11.2.3 All reports required by a permit, 
	1.11.2.4 Records of all data used to complete the application for a permit, 
	1.11.2.5 Field logbooks or visual monitoring logbooks,
	1.11.2.6 Quality assurance chain of custody forms, 
	1.11.2.7 Copies of discharge monitoring reports, and 
	1.11.2.8 A copy of this APDES permit. 

	1.11.3 Records of monitoring information must include:
	1.11.3.1 The date, exact place, and time of any sampling or measurement;
	1.11.3.2 The name(s) of any individual(s) who performed the sampling or measurement(s);
	1.11.3.3 The date(s) and time any analysis was performed;
	1.11.3.4 The name(s) of any individual(s) who performed any analysis;
	1.11.3.5 Any analytical technique or method used; and
	1.11.3.6 The results of the analysis.

	1.11.4 Monitoring Procedures

	1.12 Signature Requirement and Penalties
	1.12.1 Any application, report, or information submitted to the Department in compliance with a permit requirement must be signed and certified in accordance with 18 AAC 83.385. Any person who knowingly makes any false material statement, representation, or certification in any application, record, report, or other document filed or required to be maintained under a permit, or who knowingly falsifies, tampers with, or renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be maintained under this permit shall, upon conviction, be subject to penalties under 33 U.S.C. 1319(c)(4), AS 12.55.035(c)(1)(B), (c)(2), and (c)(3) and AS 46.03.790(g). 
	1.12.2 In accordance with 18 AAC 83.385, an APDES permit application must be signed as follows:
	1.12.2.1 For a corporation, by a responsible corporate officer. 
	1.12.2.2 For a partnership or sole proprietorship, by the general partner or the proprietor, respectively.
	1.12.2.3 For a municipality, state, federal, or other public agency, by either a principal executive officer or ranking elected official.

	1.12.3 Any report required by an APDES permit, and a submittal with any other information requested by the Department, must be signed by a person described in Appendix A, Part 1.12.2, or by a duly authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized representative only if:
	1.12.3.1 The authorization is made in writing by a person described in Appendix A, Part 1.12.2;
	1.12.3.2 The authorization specifies either an individual or a position having responsibility for the overall operation of the regulated facility or activity, including the position of plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, superintendent, or position of equivalent responsibility; or an individual or position having overall responsibility for environmental matters for the company; and
	1.12.3.3 The written authorization is submitted to the Department to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

	1.12.4 If an authorization under Appendix A, Part 1.12.3 is no longer effective because a different individual or position has responsibility for the overall operation of the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12.3 must be submitted to the Department before or together with any report, information, or application to be signed by an authorized representative.
	1.12.5 Any person signing a document under Appendix A, Part 1.12.2 or Part 1.12.3 shall certify as follows: 

	1.13 Proprietary or Confidential Information
	1.13.1 A permit applicant or permittee may assert a claim of confidentiality for proprietary or confidential business information by stamping the words “confidential business information” on each page of a submission containing proprietary or confidential business information. The Department will treat the stamped submissions as confidential if the information satisfies the test in 40 CFR §2.208, adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010, and is not otherwise required to be made public by state law. 
	1.13.2 A claim of confidentiality under Appendix A, Part 1.13.1 may not be asserted for the name and address of any permit applicant or permittee, a permit application, a permit, effluent data, sewage sludge data, and information required by APDES or NPDES application forms provided by the Department, whether submitted on the forms themselves or in any attachments used to supply information required by the forms. 
	1.13.3 A permittee’s claim of confidentiality authorized under Appendix A, Part 1.13.1 is not waived if the Department provides the proprietary or confidential business information to the EPA or to other agencies participating in the permitting process. The Department will supply any information obtained or used in the administration of the state APDES program to the EPA upon request under 40 CFR §123.41, as revised as of July 1, 2005. When providing information submitted to the Department with a claim of confidentiality to the EPA, the Department will notify the EPA of the confidentiality claim. If the Department provides the EPA information that is not claimed to be confidential, the EPA may make the information available to the public without further notice.

	1.14 Oil and Hazardous Substance Liability
	1.15 Cultural and Paleontological Resources
	1.16  Fee
	1.17 Other Legal Obligations

	2.0 Special Reporting Obligations
	2.1 Planned Changes
	2.1.1 The permittee shall give notice to the Department as soon as possible of any planned physical alteration or addition to the permitted facility if:
	2.1.1.1 The alteration or addition may make the facility a “new source” under one or more of the criteria in 18 AAC 83.990(44); or
	2.1.1.2 The alteration or addition could significantly change the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged if those pollutants are not subject to effluent limitations in the permit or to notification requirements under 18 AAC 83.610. 

	2.1.2 If the proposed changes are subject to plan review, then the plans must be submitted at least 30 days before implementation of changes (see 18 AAC 15.020 and 18 AAC 72 for plan review requirements). Written approval is not required for an emergency repair or routine maintenance. 
	2.1.3 Written notice must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

	2.2  Anticipated Noncompliance
	2.2.1 A permittee shall give seven days’ notice to the Department before commencing any planned change in the permitted facility or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit requirements. 
	2.2.2 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

	2.3 Transfers 
	2.3.1 A permittee may not transfer a permit for a facility or activity to any person except after notice to the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.150. The Department may modify or revoke and reissue the permit to change the name of the permittee and incorporate such other requirements under 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act) or state law. 
	2.3.2 Written notice must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

	2.4  Compliance Schedules
	2.4.1 A permittee must submit progress or compliance reports on interim and final requirements in any compliance schedule of a permit no later than 14 days following the scheduled date of each requirement. 
	2.4.2 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2. 

	2.5 Corrective Information
	2.5.1 If a permittee becomes aware that it failed to submit a relevant fact in a permit application or submitted incorrect information in a permit application or in any report to the Department, the permittee shall promptly submit the relevant fact or the correct information. 
	2.5.2 Information must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

	2.6 Bypass of Treatment Facilities
	2.6.1 Prohibition of Bypass
	2.6.1.1 The bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal injury, or severe property damage;
	2.6.1.2 There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, including use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of equipment downtime. However, this condition is not satisfied if the permittee, in the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment, should have installed adequate backup equipment to prevent a bypass that occurred during normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and
	2.6.1.3 The permittee provides notice to the Department of a bypass event in the manner, as appropriate, under Appendix A, Part 2.6.2.

	2.6.2 Notice of bypass
	2.6.2.1 For an anticipated bypass, the permittee submits notice at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. The Department may approve an anticipated bypass, after considering its adverse effects, if the Department determines that it will meet the conditions of Appendix A, Parts 2.6.1.1 and 2.6.1.2.
	2.6.2.2 For an unanticipated bypass, the permittee submits 24-hour notice, as required in 18 AAC 83.410(f) and Appendix A, Part 3.4, Twentyfour Hour Reporting.
	2.6.2.3 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2. 

	2.6.3 Notwithstanding Appendix A, Part 2.6.1, a permittee may allow a bypass that: 
	2.6.3.1 Does not cause an effluent limitation to be exceeded, and 
	2.6.3.2 Is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation.


	2.7 Upset Conditions
	2.7.1 In any enforcement action for noncompliance with technology-based permit effluent limitations, a permittee may claim upset as an affirmative defense. A permittee seeking to establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof to show that the requirements of Appendix A, Part 2.7.2 are met.  
	2.7.2 To establish the affirmative defense of upset, the permittee must demonstrate, through properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant evidence that:
	2.7.2.1 An upset occurred and the permittee can identify the cause or causes of the upset;
	2.7.2.2 The permitted facility was at the time being properly operated;
	2.7.2.3 The permittee submitted 24-hour notice of the upset, as required in 18 AAC 83.410(f) and Appendix A, Part 3.4, Twenty-four Hour Reporting; and 
	2.7.2.4 The permittee complied with any mitigation measures required under 18 AAC 83.405(e) and Appendix A, Part 1.5, Duty to Mitigate.

	2.7.3 Any determination made in administrative review of a claim that noncompliance was caused by upset, before an action for noncompliance is commenced, is not final administrative action subject to judicial review.

	2.8 Existing Manufacturing, Commercial, Mining, and Silvicultural Discharges
	2.8.1 In addition to the reporting requirements under 18 AAC 83.410, an existing manufacturing, commercial, mining, and silvicultural discharger shall notify the Department as soon as that discharger knows or has reason to believe that any activity has occurred or will occur that would result in:
	2.8.1.1 The discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of any toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following notification levels:
	2.8.1.1.1 One hundred micrograms per liter (100 µg/L);
	2.8.1.1.2 Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 µg/L) for acrolein and acrylonitrile, 500 micrograms per liter (500 µg/L) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol, and one milligram per liter (1 mg/L) for antimony;
	2.8.1.1.3 Five times the maximum concentration value reported for that pollutant in the permit application in accordance with 18 AAC 83.310(c)-(g); or
	2.8.1.1.4 The level established by the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.445.

	2.8.1.2 Any discharge, on a non-routine or infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following notification levels:
	2.8.1.2.1 Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 µg/L);
	2.8.1.2.2 One milligram per liter (1 mg/L) for antimony;
	2.8.1.2.3 Ten times the maximum concentration value reported for that pollutant in the permit application in accordance with 18 AAC 83.310(c)-(g); or
	2.8.1.2.4 The level established by the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.445.




	3.0 Monitoring, Recording, and Reporting Requirements
	3.1 Representative Sampling  
	A permittee must collect effluent samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit before discharge into the receiving waters. Samples and measurements must be representative of the volume and nature of the monitored activity or discharge.

	3.2 Reporting of Monitoring Results
	3.2.1 Monitoring results shall be summarized each month on the DMR or an approved equivalent report. The permittee must submit reports monthly postmarked by the 20th (was 15th and changed to 20th) day of the following month. 
	3.2.2 The permittee must sign and certify all DMRs and all other reports in accordance with the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12, Signatory Requirements and Penalties. All signed and certified legible original DMRs and all other documents and reports must be submitted to the Department at the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.
	3.2.3 If, during the period when this permit is effective, the Department makes available electronic reporting, the permittee may, as an alternative to the requirements of Appendix A, Part 3.2.2, submit monthly DMRs electronically by the 20th day of the following month in accordance with guidance provided by the Department. The permittee must certify all DMRs and other reports, in accordance with the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12, Signatory Requirements and Penalties. The permittee must retain the legible originals of these documents and make them available to the Department upon request.

	3.3 Additional Monitoring by Permittee
	3.4 Twenty-four Hour Reporting 
	A permittee shall report any noncompliance event that may endanger health or the environment as follows: 
	3.4.1 A report must be made:
	3.4.1.1 Orally within 24 hours after the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances, and
	3.4.1.2 In writing within five days after the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. 

	3.4.2 A report must include the following information:
	3.4.2.1 A description of the noncompliance and its causes, including the estimated volume or weight and specific details of the noncompliance;
	3.4.2.2 The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times;
	3.4.2.3 If the noncompliance has not been corrected, a statement regarding the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue; and
	3.4.2.4 Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.

	3.4.3 An event that must be reported within 24 hours includes:
	3.4.3.1 An unanticipated bypass that exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit (see Appendix A, Part 2.6, Bypass of Treatment Facilities).
	3.4.3.2 An upset that exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit (see Appendix A, Part 2.7, Upset Conditions).
	3.4.3.3 A violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation for any of the pollutants listed in the permit as requiring 24-hour reporting.

	3.4.4 The Department may waive the written report on a case-by-case basis for reports under Appendix A, Part 3.4 if the oral report has been received within 24 hours of the permittee becoming aware of the noncompliance event. 
	3.4.5 The permittee may satisfy the written reporting submission requirements of Appendix A, Part 3.4 by submitting the written report via e-mail, if the following conditions are met:
	3.4.5.1 The Noncompliance Notification Form or equivalent form is used to report the noncompliance;
	3.4.5.2 The written report includes all the information required under Appendix A, Part 3.4.2;
	3.4.5.3 The written report is properly certified and signed in accordance with Appendix A, Parts 1.12.3 and 1.12.5.; 
	3.4.5.4 The written report is scanned as a PDF (portable document format) document and transmitted to the Department as an attachment to the e-mail; and
	3.4.5.5 The permittee retains in the facility file the original signed and certified written report and a printed copy of the conveying email. 

	3.4.6 The e-mail and PDF written report will satisfy the written report submission requirements of this permit provided the e-mail is received by the Department within five days after the time the permittee becomes aware of the noncompliance event and the e-mail and written report satisfy the criteria of Part 3.4.5. The e-mail address to report noncompliance is:  dec-wqreporting@alaska.gov

	3.5 Other Noncompliance Reporting

	4.0 Penalties for Violations of Permit Conditions
	4.1 Civil Action 
	4.1.1 Reasonable compensation in the nature of liquated damages for any adverse environmental effects caused by the violation, that shall be determined by the court according to the toxicity, degradability, and dispersal characteristics of the substance discharged, the sensitivity of the receiving environment, and the degree to which the discharge degrades existing environmental quality;
	4.1.2 Reasonable costs incurred by the State in detection, investigation, and attempted correction of the violation;
	4.1.3 The economic savings realized by the person in not complying with the requirements for which a violation is charged; and
	4.1.4 The need for an enhanced civil penalty to deter future noncompliance.

	4.2 Injunctive Relief 
	4.2.1 Under AS 46.03.820, the Department can order an activity presenting an imminent or present danger to public health or that would be likely to result in irreversible damage to the environment be discontinued. Upon receipt of such an order, the activity must be immediately discontinued.
	4.2.2 Under AS 46.03.765, the Department can bring an action in Alaska Superior Court seeking to enjoin ongoing or threatened violations for Department-issued permits and Department statutes and regulations.

	4.3 Criminal Action
	4.3.1 Violates a regulation adopted by the Department under AS 46.03.020(12); 
	4.3.2 Violates a permit issued under the program authorized by AS 46.03.020(12);
	4.3.3 Fails to provide information or provides false information required by a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12);
	4.3.4 Makes a false statement, representation, or certification in an application, notice, record, report, permit, or other document filed, maintained, or used for purposes of compliance with a permit issued under or a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12); or
	4.3.5 Renders inaccurate a monitoring device or method required to be maintained by a permit issued or under a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12).

	4.4 Other Fines


	Appendix BAcronyms
	Permit Appendix C - Definitions.pdf
	The following are common definitions of terms associated with APDES permits. Not all the terms listed may appear in a permit. Consult the footnote references for a complete list of terms and definitions.

	Permit Appendix A - Std Conditons.pdf
	1.0 Standard Conditions Applicable to All Permits
	1.1 Contact Information and Addresses
	1.1.1 Permitting Program
	1.1.2 Compliance and Enforcement Program 

	1.2 Duty to Comply
	1.3 Duty to Reapply
	1.4 Need to Halt or Reduce Activity Not a Defense
	1.5 Duty to Mitigate
	1.6 Proper Operation and Maintenance 
	1.6.1 A permittee shall at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and systems of treatment and control and related appurtenances that the permittee installs or uses to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit. The permittee’s duty to operate and maintain properly includes using adequate laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures. However, a permittee is not required to operate backup or auxiliary facilities or similar systems that a permittee installs unless operation of those facilities is necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit.
	1.6.2 Operation and maintenance records shall be retained and made available at the site.

	1.7 Permit Actions
	1.8 Property Rights
	1.9 Duty to Provide Information
	A permittee shall, within a reasonable time, provide to the Department any information that the Department requests to determine whether a permittee is in compliance with the permit, or whether cause exists to modify, revoke and reissue, or terminate the permit. A permittee shall also provide to the Department, upon request, copies of any records the permittee is required to keep under the permit. 

	1.10 Inspection and Entry
	1.10.1 Enter the premises where a permittee’s regulated facility or activity is located or conducted, or where permit conditions require records to be kept;
	1.10.2 Have access to and copy any records that permit conditions require the permittee to keep;
	1.10.3 Inspect any facilities, equipment, including monitoring and control equipment, practices, or operations regulated or required under a permit; and
	1.10.4 Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location for the purpose of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act). 

	1.11 Monitoring and Records
	1.11.1 Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring must be representative of the monitored activity.
	1.11.2 The permittee shall retain records in Alaska of all monitoring information for at least five years, or longer at the Department’s request at any time, from the date of the sample, measurement, report, or application. Monitoring records required to be kept include:
	1.11.2.1 All calibration and maintenance records,
	1.11.2.2 All original strip chart recordings or other forms of data approved by the Department for continuous monitoring instrumentation, 
	1.11.2.3 All reports required by a permit, 
	1.11.2.4 Records of all data used to complete the application for a permit, 
	1.11.2.5 Field logbooks or visual monitoring logbooks,
	1.11.2.6 Quality assurance chain of custody forms, 
	1.11.2.7 Copies of discharge monitoring reports, and 
	1.11.2.8 A copy of this APDES permit. 

	1.11.3 Records of monitoring information must include:
	1.11.3.1 The date, exact place, and time of any sampling or measurement;
	1.11.3.2 The name(s) of any individual(s) who performed the sampling or measurement(s);
	1.11.3.3 The date(s) and time any analysis was performed;
	1.11.3.4 The name(s) of any individual(s) who performed any analysis;
	1.11.3.5 Any analytical technique or method used; and
	1.11.3.6 The results of the analysis.

	1.11.4 Monitoring Procedures

	1.12 Signature Requirement and Penalties
	1.12.1 Any application, report, or information submitted to the Department in compliance with a permit requirement must be signed and certified in accordance with 18 AAC 83.385. Any person who knowingly makes any false material statement, representation, or certification in any application, record, report, or other document filed or required to be maintained under a permit, or who knowingly falsifies, tampers with, or renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be maintained under this permit shall, upon conviction, be subject to penalties under 33 U.S.C. 1319(c)(4), AS 12.55.035(c)(1)(B), (c)(2), and (c)(3) and AS 46.03.790(g). 
	1.12.2 In accordance with 18 AAC 83.385, an APDES permit application must be signed as follows:
	1.12.2.1 For a corporation, by a responsible corporate officer. 
	1.12.2.2 For a partnership or sole proprietorship, by the general partner or the proprietor, respectively.
	1.12.2.3 For a municipality, state, federal, or other public agency, by either a principal executive officer or ranking elected official.

	1.12.3 Any report required by an APDES permit, and a submittal with any other information requested by the Department, must be signed by a person described in Appendix A, Part 1.12.2, or by a duly authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized representative only if:
	1.12.3.1 The authorization is made in writing by a person described in Appendix A, Part 1.12.2;
	1.12.3.2 The authorization specifies either an individual or a position having responsibility for the overall operation of the regulated facility or activity, including the position of plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, superintendent, or position of equivalent responsibility; or an individual or position having overall responsibility for environmental matters for the company; and
	1.12.3.3 The written authorization is submitted to the Department to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

	1.12.4 If an authorization under Appendix A, Part 1.12.3 is no longer effective because a different individual or position has responsibility for the overall operation of the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12.3 must be submitted to the Department before or together with any report, information, or application to be signed by an authorized representative.
	1.12.5 Any person signing a document under Appendix A, Part 1.12.2 or Part 1.12.3 shall certify as follows: 

	1.13 Proprietary or Confidential Information
	1.13.1 A permit applicant or permittee may assert a claim of confidentiality for proprietary or confidential business information by stamping the words “confidential business information” on each page of a submission containing proprietary or confidential business information. The Department will treat the stamped submissions as confidential if the information satisfies the test in 40 CFR §2.208, adopted by reference at 18 AAC 83.010, and is not otherwise required to be made public by state law. 
	1.13.2 A claim of confidentiality under Appendix A, Part 1.13.1 may not be asserted for the name and address of any permit applicant or permittee, a permit application, a permit, effluent data, sewage sludge data, and information required by APDES or NPDES application forms provided by the Department, whether submitted on the forms themselves or in any attachments used to supply information required by the forms. 
	1.13.3 A permittee’s claim of confidentiality authorized under Appendix A, Part 1.13.1 is not waived if the Department provides the proprietary or confidential business information to the EPA or to other agencies participating in the permitting process. The Department will supply any information obtained or used in the administration of the state APDES program to the EPA upon request under 40 CFR §123.41, as revised as of July 1, 2005. When providing information submitted to the Department with a claim of confidentiality to the EPA, the Department will notify the EPA of the confidentiality claim. If the Department provides the EPA information that is not claimed to be confidential, the EPA may make the information available to the public without further notice.

	1.14 Oil and Hazardous Substance Liability
	1.15 Cultural and Paleontological Resources
	1.16  Fee
	1.17 Other Legal Obligations

	2.0 Special Reporting Obligations
	2.1 Planned Changes
	2.1.1 The permittee shall give notice to the Department as soon as possible of any planned physical alteration or addition to the permitted facility if:
	2.1.1.1 The alteration or addition may make the facility a “new source” under one or more of the criteria in 18 AAC 83.990(44); or
	2.1.1.2 The alteration or addition could significantly change the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged if those pollutants are not subject to effluent limitations in the permit or to notification requirements under 18 AAC 83.610. 

	2.1.2 If the proposed changes are subject to plan review, then the plans must be submitted at least 30 days before implementation of changes (see 18 AAC 15.020 and 18 AAC 72 for plan review requirements). Written approval is not required for an emergency repair or routine maintenance. 
	2.1.3 Written notice must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

	2.2  Anticipated Noncompliance
	2.2.1 A permittee shall give seven days’ notice to the Department before commencing any planned change in the permitted facility or activity that may result in noncompliance with permit requirements. 
	2.2.2 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.

	2.3 Transfers 
	2.3.1 A permittee may not transfer a permit for a facility or activity to any person except after notice to the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.150. The Department may modify or revoke and reissue the permit to change the name of the permittee and incorporate such other requirements under 33 U.S.C. 1251-1387 (Clean Water Act) or state law. 
	2.3.2 Written notice must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

	2.4  Compliance Schedules
	2.4.1 A permittee must submit progress or compliance reports on interim and final requirements in any compliance schedule of a permit no later than 14 days following the scheduled date of each requirement. 
	2.4.2 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2. 

	2.5 Corrective Information
	2.5.1 If a permittee becomes aware that it failed to submit a relevant fact in a permit application or submitted incorrect information in a permit application or in any report to the Department, the permittee shall promptly submit the relevant fact or the correct information. 
	2.5.2 Information must be sent to the Permitting Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.1.

	2.6 Bypass of Treatment Facilities
	2.6.1 Prohibition of Bypass
	2.6.1.1 The bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal injury, or severe property damage;
	2.6.1.2 There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, including use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of equipment downtime. However, this condition is not satisfied if the permittee, in the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment, should have installed adequate backup equipment to prevent a bypass that occurred during normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and
	2.6.1.3 The permittee provides notice to the Department of a bypass event in the manner, as appropriate, under Appendix A, Part 2.6.2.

	2.6.2 Notice of bypass
	2.6.2.1 For an anticipated bypass, the permittee submits notice at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. The Department may approve an anticipated bypass, after considering its adverse effects, if the Department determines that it will meet the conditions of Appendix A, Parts 2.6.1.1 and 2.6.1.2.
	2.6.2.2 For an unanticipated bypass, the permittee submits 24-hour notice, as required in 18 AAC 83.410(f) and Appendix A, Part 3.4, Twentyfour Hour Reporting.
	2.6.2.3 Written notice must be sent to the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2. 

	2.6.3 Notwithstanding Appendix A, Part 2.6.1, a permittee may allow a bypass that: 
	2.6.3.1 Does not cause an effluent limitation to be exceeded, and 
	2.6.3.2 Is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation.


	2.7 Upset Conditions
	2.7.1 In any enforcement action for noncompliance with technology-based permit effluent limitations, a permittee may claim upset as an affirmative defense. A permittee seeking to establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof to show that the requirements of Appendix A, Part 2.7.2 are met.  
	2.7.2 To establish the affirmative defense of upset, the permittee must demonstrate, through properly signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant evidence that:
	2.7.2.1 An upset occurred and the permittee can identify the cause or causes of the upset;
	2.7.2.2 The permitted facility was at the time being properly operated;
	2.7.2.3 The permittee submitted 24-hour notice of the upset, as required in 18 AAC 83.410(f) and Appendix A, Part 3.4, Twenty-four Hour Reporting; and 
	2.7.2.4 The permittee complied with any mitigation measures required under 18 AAC 83.405(e) and Appendix A, Part 1.5, Duty to Mitigate.

	2.7.3 Any determination made in administrative review of a claim that noncompliance was caused by upset, before an action for noncompliance is commenced, is not final administrative action subject to judicial review.

	2.8 Existing Manufacturing, Commercial, Mining, and Silvicultural Discharges
	2.8.1 In addition to the reporting requirements under 18 AAC 83.410, an existing manufacturing, commercial, mining, and silvicultural discharger shall notify the Department as soon as that discharger knows or has reason to believe that any activity has occurred or will occur that would result in:
	2.8.1.1 The discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of any toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following notification levels:
	2.8.1.1.1 One hundred micrograms per liter (100 µg/L);
	2.8.1.1.2 Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 µg/L) for acrolein and acrylonitrile, 500 micrograms per liter (500 µg/L) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol, and one milligram per liter (1 mg/L) for antimony;
	2.8.1.1.3 Five times the maximum concentration value reported for that pollutant in the permit application in accordance with 18 AAC 83.310(c)-(g); or
	2.8.1.1.4 The level established by the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.445.

	2.8.1.2 Any discharge, on a non-routine or infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following notification levels:
	2.8.1.2.1 Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 µg/L);
	2.8.1.2.2 One milligram per liter (1 mg/L) for antimony;
	2.8.1.2.3 Ten times the maximum concentration value reported for that pollutant in the permit application in accordance with 18 AAC 83.310(c)-(g); or
	2.8.1.2.4 The level established by the Department in accordance with 18 AAC 83.445.




	3.0 Monitoring, Recording, and Reporting Requirements
	3.1 Representative Sampling  
	A permittee must collect effluent samples from the effluent stream after the last treatment unit before discharge into the receiving waters. Samples and measurements must be representative of the volume and nature of the monitored activity or discharge.

	3.2 Reporting of Monitoring Results
	3.2.1 Monitoring results shall be summarized each month on the DMR or an approved equivalent report. The permittee must submit reports monthly postmarked by the 20th day of the following month. 
	3.2.2 The permittee must sign and certify all DMRs and all other reports in accordance with the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12, Signatory Requirements and Penalties. All signed and certified legible original DMRs and all other documents and reports must be submitted to the Department at the Compliance and Enforcement Program address in Appendix A, Part 1.1.2.
	3.2.3 If, during the period when this permit is effective, the Department makes available electronic reporting, the permittee may, as an alternative to the requirements of Appendix A, Part 3.2.2, submit monthly DMRs electronically by the 20th day of the following month in accordance with guidance provided by the Department. The permittee must certify all DMRs and other reports, in accordance with the requirements of Appendix A, Part 1.12, Signatory Requirements and Penalties. The permittee must retain the legible originals of these documents and make them available to the Department upon request.

	3.3 Additional Monitoring by Permittee
	3.4 Twenty-four Hour Reporting 
	A permittee shall report any noncompliance event that may endanger health or the environment as follows: 
	3.4.1 A report must be made:
	3.4.1.1 Orally within 24 hours after the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances, and
	3.4.1.2 In writing within five days after the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. 

	3.4.2 A report must include the following information:
	3.4.2.1 A description of the noncompliance and its causes, including the estimated volume or weight and specific details of the noncompliance;
	3.4.2.2 The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times;
	3.4.2.3 If the noncompliance has not been corrected, a statement regarding the anticipated time the noncompliance is expected to continue; and
	3.4.2.4 Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.

	3.4.3 An event that must be reported within 24 hours includes:
	3.4.3.1 An unanticipated bypass that exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit (see Appendix A, Part 2.6, Bypass of Treatment Facilities).
	3.4.3.2 An upset that exceeds any effluent limitation in the permit (see Appendix A, Part 2.7, Upset Conditions).
	3.4.3.3 A violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation for any of the pollutants listed in the permit as requiring 24-hour reporting.

	3.4.4 The Department may waive the written report on a case-by-case basis for reports under Appendix A, Part 3.4 if the oral report has been received within 24 hours of the permittee becoming aware of the noncompliance event. 
	3.4.5 The permittee may satisfy the written reporting submission requirements of Appendix A, Part 3.4 by submitting the written report via e-mail, if the following conditions are met:
	3.4.5.1 The Noncompliance Notification Form or equivalent form is used to report the noncompliance;
	3.4.5.2 The written report includes all the information required under Appendix A, Part 3.4.2;
	3.4.5.3 The written report is properly certified and signed in accordance with Appendix A, Parts 1.12.3 and 1.12.5.; 
	3.4.5.4 The written report is scanned as a PDF (portable document format) document and transmitted to the Department as an attachment to the e-mail; and
	3.4.5.5 The permittee retains in the facility file the original signed and certified written report and a printed copy of the conveying email. 

	3.4.6 The e-mail and PDF written report will satisfy the written report submission requirements of this permit provided the e-mail is received by the Department within five days after the time the permittee becomes aware of the noncompliance event and the e-mail and written report satisfy the criteria of Part 3.4.5. The e-mail address to report noncompliance is:  dec-wqreporting@alaska.gov

	3.5 Other Noncompliance Reporting

	4.0 Penalties for Violations of Permit Conditions
	4.1 Civil Action 
	4.1.1 Reasonable compensation in the nature of liquated damages for any adverse environmental effects caused by the violation, that shall be determined by the court according to the toxicity, degradability, and dispersal characteristics of the substance discharged, the sensitivity of the receiving environment, and the degree to which the discharge degrades existing environmental quality;
	4.1.2 Reasonable costs incurred by the State in detection, investigation, and attempted correction of the violation;
	4.1.3 The economic savings realized by the person in not complying with the requirements for which a violation is charged; and
	4.1.4 The need for an enhanced civil penalty to deter future noncompliance.

	4.2 Injunctive Relief 
	4.2.1 Under AS 46.03.820, the Department can order an activity presenting an imminent or present danger to public health or that would be likely to result in irreversible damage to the environment be discontinued. Upon receipt of such an order, the activity must be immediately discontinued.
	4.2.2 Under AS 46.03.765, the Department can bring an action in Alaska Superior Court seeking to enjoin ongoing or threatened violations for Department-issued permits and Department statutes and regulations.

	4.3 Criminal Action
	4.3.1 Violates a regulation adopted by the Department under AS 46.03.020(12); 
	4.3.2 Violates a permit issued under the program authorized by AS 46.03.020(12);
	4.3.3 Fails to provide information or provides false information required by a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12);
	4.3.4 Makes a false statement, representation, or certification in an application, notice, record, report, permit, or other document filed, maintained, or used for purposes of compliance with a permit issued under or a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12); or
	4.3.5 Renders inaccurate a monitoring device or method required to be maintained by a permit issued or under a regulation adopted under AS 46.03.020(12).

	4.4 Other Fines





