Pebble Project Technical Working Groups

Steering Committee Meeting

(Atwood Building, Room 1270)

Final Minutes

Approved 8/29/07

July 19, 2007

Attendees:

Andrea Meyer (DNR) Tom Crafford (DNR) Mike Smith (NDM) Leroy Phillips (COE) Charlotte MacCay (Bristol/NDM) Bud Rice (NPS) Phil Brna (USFWS) Scott Maclean (OHMP/DNR) Tom Brookover (ADF&G) Dianne Soderlund (EPA) Jeanne Hanson (NMFS) Doug Limpinsel (NMFS)

GENERAL COMMENTS

Technical Working Groups (TWGs) will be advisory groups that will provide coordination and suggestions related to baseline studies for the Pebble Project. TWGs will not function as a consensus or decision-making authority.

TWGs will help determine scope of studies, geographical extent, methodologies and means to best coordinate study efforts.

TWGs will evolve and may split into subgroups or may, on occasion, merge with other groups that have overlapping interests.

Charlotte MacCay will act as scribe for all meetings, unless otherwise determined by the TWG. She will produce draft minutes that will be distributed to all TWG members for review and comment before they are finalized.

DNR will provide a link on its Pebble Project website to a repository of final TWG minutes .

Teleconferencing and videoconferencing are tools that may be utilized to better accommodate meetings. The National Park Service (NPS) has videoconferencing capabilities in Anchorage, King Salmon, and Port Alsworth, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has teleconferencing capabilities in Anchorage and Seattle, and Northern Dynasty (NDM) has videoconferencing capabilities in Anchorage and Vancouver.

The Steering Committee, composed of the primary leads from participating state and federal agencies, and NDM as applicant, will convene on at least a quarterly basis initially, and then as frequently as appropriate. Its role will be to guide the scope of the TWGs and to coordinate TWG assignments to prevent overlap and/or study review gaps

that could occur between TWGs and to address issues or concerns raised by TWG leaders or groups.

Technical Working Group Protocols and Guidelines

The Technical Working Group Protocols and Guidelines (Guidelines) will be revised, in accordance with suggestions and comments made at this meeting, by Charlotte MacCay and distributed for final review to all Steering Committee members. Revisions will reflect the discussion below.

The "TWG objectives" will be expanded to include recommending additional studies "and/or modifications to ongoing studies."

Each agency will determine which staff to assign to TWGs. An agency will provide the staff member's name and contact information to Tom Crafford. Tom will forward the information to Charlotte MacCay who will schedule each TWG initial meeting and provide a master schedule to Tom Crafford.

Subsequent to the initial TWG meeting, future meetings will be scheduled by the individual TWG leader.

TWG meetings may attract public interest. To accommodate the public and minimize disruption to meeting productivity, the public will be allowed to observe, and a forum for public comment will be provided at the end of the meeting, if requested. Additionally, the TWG leaders' names and e-mail addresses will be posted on the DNR Pebble Project website with the list of agencies that have representation on each TWG. The public may e-mail comments to the leader. The leader will distribute e-mailed public comments to the TWG members for discussion at the next TWG meeting. The public will be able to review the final meeting minutes when they are posted on the DNR Pebble Project website.

Initial TWGs

The initial TWGs have been selected based on the need for input regarding long term data acquisition procedures and protocols, the immediate presence of substantive technical or protocol issues, or subjects for which discussion has already been informally initiated between NDM and regulatory agencies.

Additional TWGs will be formed on an as-needed basis. Subsistence and socioeconomic issues were both suggested as important for potential future TWGs. It was noted it may be difficult to know how to define and explore socioeconomic issues prior to having the project defined. It was also noted that some projects develop Human Health Impact Assessment policies and there may be human health impact data that should be collected.

FWS and NPS will approach USGS regarding its representation on TWGs.

The initial TWGs membership is shown in the attached table.

SUGGESTED FORMAT FOR INITIAL TWG MEETINGS

A Steering Committee member from each agency involved in the TWG meeting will be present at the initial meeting.

Charlotte MacCay will lead the first meeting; subsequent meetings will be lead by an agency representative chosen as TWG leader by members of that TWG.

A suggested agenda for the initial TWG meetings is shown below.

- Self introduction by TWG members
- Review of TWG Guidelines
- Role of Steering Committee
- Role of the Specific TWG
- Pebble Project Overview and Status Presentation (NDM)
- Overview of Relevant Studies and Data Collected to Date (NDM Consultants)
- Future Studies under Consideration (NDM & Consultants)
- Choose a TWG Leader and an Alternate
- Discussion led by New Leader, and Set Next Meeting Date

NEXT STEERING COMMITTEE MEETING

August 23, 2007 9:00 AM Room 1270, Atwood Building

TWG	DNR			ADF&G	DEC	EPA	COE	FWS	NPS	NMFS	USGS	NDM
	OPMP	OHMP	DMLW									
Surface & Groundwater Quality		Scott Maclean	Jim Vohden	Jason Mouw	David Johnson	Cindi Godsey	Leroy Phillips	Kim Trust		Х	Steve Frenzel	C. MacCay A. Love
Wildlife				Grant Hilderbrand		Jean Zodrow	Leroy Phillips	Steve Matsuoka	Judy Putera	Barb Mahoney	Х	C. MacCay T. Schick
Baseline Multi-Media Trace Elements		Jeff Estensen		Mark Fink (temp)	David Johnson	Lorraine Edmond	Leroy Phillips	Kim Trust		Х	Х	C. MacCay M. Steljes
Geochemistry/ MLARD	X ¹	Scott Maclean	Steve McGroarty	Mark Fink (temp)	David Johnson	Lorraine Edmond	Leroy Phillips	Kim Trust			Х	C. MacCay S. Day
Fish		Jeff Estensen		Mark Fink (temp)		Jean Zodrow/ Phil North	Leroy Phillips	Doug McBride	Dan Young	Doug Limpensel		C. MacCay J. Buell
Aquatic Habitat Assessment		Jeff Estensen		Mark Fink (temp)		Phil North/ Gretchen Hayslip	Leroy Phillips	Doug McBride		Doug Limpensel	Dr. Chris Zimmerman	C. MacCay J. Buell
Hydrology/Instream Flow		Scott Maclean	Jim Vohden	Jason Mouw	David Johnson	Phil North	Leroy Phillips			Doug Limpensel	Steve Frenzel	C. MacCay J. Buell S. Florio

¹ Consultant