STATE OF ALASKA

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

DIVISION OF MINING, LAND & WATER -- MINING SECTION

SEAN PARNELL, GOVERNOR

550 WEST 7TH AVENUE, SUITE 920 ANCHORAGE, ALASKA 99501-3514

PHONE: (907) 269-8621 FAX: (907) 269-8930

June 23, 2011

Coeur Alaska 3031 Clinton Drive, Suite 202 Juneau, Alaska 99801 Attention: Kevin Eppers

Re: Extension of the Kensington Gold Mine Project Reclamation Plan Approval

Dear Mr. Eppers:

The Division of Mining, Land & Water issued a Reclamation Plan Approval for the Kensington Gold Mine Project for a six-year period from June 3, 2005 to June 3, 2011.

In April 2010 a hard-copy of the 2010 Reclamation and Closure Plan Update for the Kensington Gold Project was provided to our Anchorage office and an electronic version was provided for review in July. The Division of Mining, Land & Water completed review of the revised reclamation and closure plan and consolidated agency comments were provided to Coeur on October 5, 2010. The 2011 Reclamation and Closure Plan Update for the Kensington Gold Project was provided to the agencies on May 3, 2011.

Under Alaska Administrative Code 11 AAC 97.320, the commissioner of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources may approve a reclamation plan for any term not to exceed 10 years. Since Coeur submitted an application to renew the reclamation plan in a timely manner and because the original term of the reclamation plan approval was for only six years, the Division of Mining, Land & Water hereby extends the Kensington Gold Mine Project Reclamation Plan Approval through December 31, 2011 to allow for completion of the current agency review and public process associated with the renewal of the reclamation plan.

If this office can be of any additional service, please do not hesitate to contact me at (907) 269-8621 or Steve McGroarty at (907) 451-2795.

Sincerely,

Rick Fredericksen, Mining Section Chief

Ruch S. Frederickser

Division of Mining, Land & Water

cc: Luke Russell, Coeur Steve McGroarty, ADNR Chandler Engel, ADNR Kate Kanouse, ADF&G Jack DiMarchi, OPMP Stephanie Lovell, ADNR Allan Nakanishi, ADEC Sarah, Samuelson, USFS Andrea Meyer, OPMP Charlie Cobb, ADNR Kenwyn George, ADEC