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ELIGIBILITY
Program Eligibility 

As the applicant, it is your responsibility to prove that you are eligible to 
participate in the program in accordance with AS 01.10.055 Residency, AS 
38.05.600 Remote Recreational Cabin Sites, 11 AAC 67.005-.010 Disposal 
of Land Administrative Provisions, and 11 AAC 67.800-.845 Remote 
Recreational Cabin Sites.  Please read this section thoroughly before you 
submit an application.  You must certify and prove that:

●● In accordance with AS 01.10.055, you have been “physically present 
in the state with the intent to remain in the state indefinitely and to 
make a home in the state” for at least the past one year (12 months) 
immediately prior to the date of application, during which time you 
have not claimed residency or been registered to vote in any other 
state or claimed another state or nation as your residence for purposes 
such as taxes, school tuition, or benefits.

●● You are 18 years of age or older on the date of application.
●● You have not held a purchase contract or lease issued by the 

Department that has been administratively foreclosed or terminated 
for cause within the past three years.

●● You are not in default for nonpayment on a purchase contract or lease 
issued by the Department.

●● You are not in default for nonpayment of municipal taxes or 
assessments on a purchase contract or lease issued by the Department.

Corporations, businesses, and non-Alaska residents are NOT eligible 
to apply for the Remote Recreational Cabin Sites program.

Past participation in previous open-to-entry, remote parcel, homesite, 
homestead, subdivision lottery, auction, over-the-counter, or Remote 
Recreational Cabin Sites offerings does not prohibit you as an individual 
from participating in this Remote Recreational Cabin Sites offering.  You 
may also participate in subsequent offerings under this program.

Residency Requirement 
To be eligible to apply for the lottery, you must be a current Alaska resident 
and have been a resident of Alaska for at least one year (12 months) 
immediately preceding the date of the application (11 AAC 67.800). You 
are not allowed to claim Alaska residency during any period that you 
claim residency in another state, were registered to vote in another state, 
or claimed another state or nation as your residence for purposes such 
as taxes, school tuition, or benefits.  Alaska law (AS 01.10.055) defines a 
person’s establishment of residency as “being physically present in the 
state with the intent to remain in the state indefinitely and to make a home 
in the state.”
If you are a member of the Armed Forces of the United States or were 
during any part of the one-year residency period, you must either have 
been an Alaska resident prior to enlisting or have taken some affirmative 
action to make Alaska your residence, such as filing a DD 2058 (State 
of Legal Residence Certificate) or its equivalent, registering to vote, or 
paying local personal property taxes. If you collect overseas pay for 
being stationed in Alaska, or claim some other state as your residence for 
purposes such as taxes, school tuition, or benefits, you are not an Alaska 
resident.

Proof of Residency Required 
You will be required to submit proof of your Alaska residency upon 
application for your Remote Recreational Cabin Sites lease.  In accordance 
with AS 01.10.055 Residency, 11 AAC 67.005-.010 Disposal of Land 
Administrative Provisions, and 11 AAC 67.800 Eligibility, you must show 
you were physically present in Alaska the one year prior to the date of your 
lottery application with intent to make a home and remain in the state 

indefinitely.  Failure to prove your Alaska residency under these terms will 
result in the loss of your staking authorization and may result in forfeiture 
of some or all of your application fees.  Proof of residency must address the 
one year prior to the date of your lottery application and include:

●● a copy of your valid and current Alaska Driver’s License or ID Card 
issued by the State of Alaska (if you do not have a valid, current Alaska 
Driver’s License or ID Card issued by the State of Alaska with an issue 
date at least one year prior to the date you applied to the lottery, 
please contact the Land Sales and Contract Administration Section 
before applying to inquire about acceptable substitutions for this 
requirement).

AND ONE of the following primary items:
●● voter registration and voting records;
●● school records;
●● rent receipts, proof of home ownership, or a home purchase contract 

for your primary residence in Alaska;
●● motor vehicle registration for your primary vehicle;
●● tax records for your primary residence in Alaska;
●● employment, unemployment, or military records;
●● court or other government agency records; or
●● birth or other vital statistic records.

OR TWO of the following secondary items:
●● current and valid occupational or other licenses (such as hunting, 

fishing, or trapping licenses) issued by the State of Alaska; or
●● notarized affidavits of persons acquainted with but not related to the 

applicant (such affidavits may be used as corroborative evidence, but 
unless otherwise specified, will not be accepted as the sole proof of 
residency).

Secondary and self-certifying items above may only be used as 
corroborative evidence.  Upon lease application, applicants are required to 
submit as many primary (non-self-certifying) items of proof of residency as 
needed to document the minimum, one full year of Alaska residency.

The Director may accept other forms of proof, which may be deemed 
either primary or secondary.  If you are relying on such other proof not 
specifically listed above, please contact the Land Sales and Contract 
Administration Section before applying for the lottery to inquire.

Misrepresentation - False Information 
If you provide false information on forms or other required documents, 
you may be prosecuted to the full extent of the law. In addition to any 
other penalties prescribed by law, you will forfeit all monies paid and may 
lose all right, title, and interest in the land if a lease or purchase contract 
has been issued.

Filing Policy for State Employees 
State of Alaska employees, employees of state-funded agencies (such as the 
University of Alaska), or employees of a contractor employed by the State 
of Alaska or a state-funded agency, who gained knowledge of a land 
offering area at State of Alaska expense or were in a position to obtain 
inside information about the offering process, may not file an application 
during the last 15 days of the application period (11 AAC 67.005 General 
Qualifications). If you have questions about employee eligibility, contact one 
of the DNR Public Information Centers before applying.


