
Fact Sheet 

Division of Mining, Land  & Water  – August 2003
 

Dam Safety in Alaska 
Who is ultimately responsible for the safety of 
dams in Alaska? 
Old English common law, on which our legal 
system is based, holds that the capture of water in 
itself is a hazardous activity. Therefore, whoever 
captures the water is generally liable for any 
damages caused by the capture or release of the 
water.  In almost all cases, the dam owner is 
ultimately responsible for the safety of the dam.  
The Dam Safety and Construction Unit (DSCU) of 
the Department of Natural Resources is 
responsible for regulating dams that meet certain 
criteria. 
 
What statutes and regulations cover dam safety 
in Alaska? 
Alaska Statute 46.17 and 11 AAC 93, Article 3, 
Dam Safety became effective in May 1987. 
 
What dams are regulated under the Dam Safety 
Program? 
Any dam which meets one or more of the following 
criteria: 
• Impounds 50 acre-feet or more and is 10 feet 

high; 
• Is 20 feet high; or 
• Would threaten lives and property if it failed. 
 
State statutes do not apply to federally owned or 
operated dams or hydroelectric dams regulated by 
the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. 
 
What dam safety permits are required to 
construct and operate a dam in Alaska? 
A Certificate of Approval to Construct, Modify, 
Remove or Abandon A Dam is required prior to 
new construction, major modification or repair, 
removal, or abandonment.  A Certificate of 
Approval to Operate A Dam is required before a 
new or modified dam can be put into operation. 
 
What is required to obtain certificates of 
approval? 
To obtain a Certificate of Approval to Construct, 
Modify, Remove or Abandon A Dam, plans, 
specifications, engineering reports and other 
information prepared by a qualified Alaska 
registered civil engineer must be submitted for 
review and approval along with the appropriate 
application fee.  Once the application is approved 

and the dam is constructed, a Certificate of 
Approval to Operate A Dam is issued after review 
and approval of a completion report.  See  11 AAC 
93.171 for details. 
 
How long does it take to obtain certificates of 
approval? 
The department encourages the owner to involve 
the DSCU during the design process for the dam.  
When this procedure is followed, review and 
approval of the design documents can be 
completed in an expeditious manner and a permit is 
usually issued in less than 2 weeks after receipt of 
the complete application. 
 
What determines the major engineering criteria 
that must be used to design the dam? 
Dams are given hazard classifications based on the 
risk the dam creates to lives, property, and natural 
resources.  The hazard classification is not an 
indication of the safety of the dam.  The hazard 
classification determines what seismic, hydrologic, 
and hydraulic criteria must be used in the design.  
Dams are classified from Class I (highest risk) to 
Class III (lowest risk) based on the consequences 
of their failure.  The larger the consequences of 
failure the more stringent the criteria.  See 11 AAC 
93.157 for details. 
 
What general design procedures are acceptable 
for design of dams? 
Standard design procedures such as Corps of 
Engineers, Bureau of Reclamation, and Soil 
Conservation Service are acceptable for use in 
designing dams.  Once selected, the design 
procedure must be used consistently.  Consult a 
professional civil engineer for more information. 
 
When must a dam be inspected? 
During construction, the dam owner must perform 
regular construction quality control inspections. 
During operation, the dam owner must perform 
routine inspections at regular intervals specified in 
the Operation and Maintenance Manual for the 
dam, submitted by the owner prior to receiving an 
operation permit.  In addition, the dam owner must 
obtain the services of a qualified professional 
engineer, pre-approved by the department, to 
perform Periodic Safety Inspections using 
guidelines provided by the department.  The 



Periodic Safety Inspections must be performed 
every three years for Class I and II dams, and 
every five years for Class III dams.  Periodic Safety 
Inspection reports must be submitted to the 
department for review and approval.  Additional 
inspections, analyses, studies, or other information 
may be required by the department, based on a 
review of the report.  See 11 AAC 93.159 for 
details. 
 
Does the DSCU perform inspections? 
The DSCU will observe and inspect the dam during 
construction and operation, at times arranged 
cooperatively with the owner.  The DSCU will also 
try to coordinate site visits with the Periodic Safety 
Inspections when invited by the owner.  If the 
owner fails to perform any of the inspections 
required by the certificates of approval, or if an 
unsafe condition exists, the DSCU will perform 
inspections at the owner’s expense. See 11 AAC 
93.161 for details. 
 
What records must the owner of a dam 
maintain? 
The owner of a dam must maintain a file of all 
records pertaining to the safety of the dam. These 
records include: 
• Construction plans and specifications 
• Engineering reports 
• As-built drawings 
• Completion reports 
• Construction inspection reports 
• Material test analyses 
• Reports of routine and Periodic Safety 

Inspections 
 
The department may inspect these records during 
the owner’s regular business hours or at any time 
during an emergency.  If denied access, the 
department may seek an administrative subpoena 
to require the owner to produce the records. 
 
Does the DSCU offer technical assistance to 
dam owners? 
The DSCU offers some technical assistance and 
guidance to dam owners, but for construction, 
repair, or modifications to a dam, a qualified 
engineer must be employed by the owner.   
 
Is an emergency plan required for dams? 
For Class I and Class II Dams, an Emergency 
Action Plan is required.  This plan details the 
actions the owner will take in the event of a dam 
failure, potential dam failure, or other emergency 
involving the dam.  The plan must have an 
inundation map and describe warning and 

evacuation procedures for affected persons.  The 
plan must also include coordination with the local 
emergency management agency and the DSCU. 
 
What are some indicators of dam emergencies 
and what should I do if I see them? 
After a storm, if water is flowing over the top of a 
dam outside of a spillway, the dam may be in 
danger of failure.  At any time, if increased flow or 
cloudy or muddy water is observed from seeps, or 
sand boils or sink-holes are noted below the dam, 
there is a possibility that material is being eroded 
from the dam or dam foundation.  If cracks appear 
in the dam, there has been movement in the 
structure, which indicates structural problems, 
especially after an earthquake. Notify the owner 
and the local emergency management agency at 
once and then the DSCU, if any of these conditions 
are observed. 
 
What happens if there is a dam emergency? 
The DSCU would monitor the situation and see that 
the dam owner is taking steps which insure the 
safety of the public and which mitigate the 
emergency.  If the owner does not take appropriate 
steps to protect public safety, the state can seize 
control of the dam and take all steps necessary to 
protect the safety of the public and mitigate the 
emergency, including breaching the dam. 
 
What should I do if I live below a dam? 
You should check with your local emergency 
management agency to get information on the dam.   
If the dam is a Class I or Class II dam it should 
have an Emergency Action Plan.   You should get 
information on this plan, determine if your home is 
at risk in the event of a dam failure, and be aware  
of the notification and evacuation procedures in the 
plan.  Establish the quickest way to reach a safe 
place on high ground based on the flood maps, and  
make sure all members of your family know the 
way.  Make sure all members of your family are 
aware of what to do in the event of a dam failure. 
 
For more information on the Dam Safety 
Program and to submit applications for 
construction, modification, removal, or 
abandonment of dams, contact: 
 

Department of Natural Resources 
Dam Safety and Construction Unit 

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1020 
Anchorage, AK 99501-3562 

Phone: 907-269-8636 
Fax: 907-269-8947 
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