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All of a sudden you have the opportunity to invest in a gold mine – Gold! In Alaska yet! The Last Frontier!  A 
dream come true! Sounds great, BUT…  
At the risk of shattering your aspirations, we suggest taking the time to sit down, collect your senses, and 
most of all, hold on to your money until you have educated yourself as to what you may be getting into. If 
you don’t, your dream could become a nightmare!  
As a prospective claim buyer or investor, investigate the facts!  Keep in mind the old Latin phrase: “caveat 
emptor” – Let the buyer beware.  
First of all:  
 

• Realize there is no occupation man is so anxious to enter into, with so little knowledge, as mining!  
• In Alaska, there are two sets of mining regulations to become familiar with, State and Federal, 

depending on who manages the land on which a claim may be located. Regulations differ 
considerably and can be confusing.  

• Alaska land status is complex and can lead to problems also. Besides State and Federal ownership, 
you may encounter private and Native Corporation ownership of land.  

• Easily accessible areas, with a history of mining, are, for the most part, already claimed – some more 
than once! The “unexplored frontier”, often associated with Alaska, is largely a myth.  

• The following tasks must be done to locate and maintain a mining claim on Alaska State land:   
o The claim must be properly staked according to statutes and regulations;  
o A certificate of location must be recorded in the Recording District Office in which the claim 

is located within 45 days of posting the claim in the field;  
o The first year’s rental must be paid with 45 days of posting the claim;  
o Annual rental must be paid each year thereafter;  
o Labor must be performed and an affidavit of annual labor recorded each year in the 

Recording District Office in which the claim is located.   
o If there is mineral production from the claim any state production royalty due must be paid.   

• If any of the above actions has not been accomplished, and done properly, the status of the 
claim is in serious question.   

 
Hopefully you haven’t made that investment yet and still have time to investigate the facts. To do this, 
gather some basic information:  
 
ASK THE SELLER:  

1. Is the claim State or Federal? What is the claim name and number? If it is a state claim ask for the 
ADL (Alaska Division of Lands) number.  This is the identifying number for state records regarding 
the claim, and will help you research claim history, status, staking and maintenance.   

2. Who is the owner of record? Claims can have more than one owner. In such cases, remember if only 
the interest of one owner is being transferred, you will be a partner with other owners of record.  

3. Ask for a recorded copy of the claim location certificate. A recorded copy of the claim location 
certificate will have on it the Recording District Office stamp, date of recording, and document 
number or book and page number.  

4. Whether Annual Labor or assessment work has been accomplished on a continuing basis; was 
acceptable; and has been properly recorded and filed according to State or Federal regulations. 
(NOTE: Again, regulations vary considerably here! Detailed information can be obtained by 
contacting the appropriate information source for State and Federal claims.) ***Be careful of claims 



 

 

offered for sale after September 1. This is the end of the annual labor year on both State and 
Federal claims. Assessment work must have been accomplished for any specific year prior to 
that date and recorded no later than November 30th for the State claims and December 30th 
for Federal claims. Have the seller show you a properly recorded affidavit.  

5. Whether the claim is in conflict with other mineral locations. Claim conflicts do occur and often end 
up in court when the parties involved cannot resolve the problem themselves.  

You should verify the answers to the above questions through your own research (see below) or by 
engaging a professional agent to help guide you through the claim purchase.   
 
Help is available!  First, the Mining Section strongly recommends that you spend some serious time reading 
the Fact Sheets on the Mining Section page of the Alaska State website at 
http://dnr.alaska.gov/mlw/mining/index.cfm.  Click on “Mining Fact Sheets” at the upper right side of the 
page.  There are also helpful links to APMA Permitting and Forms.  There are fact sheets for most aspects of 
mining in Alaska, including:  Annual Labor, Annual Rental, Staking Requirements, MTRSC Claims, Generally 
Allowed Uses on State Land, Key Dates for Miners, and much more.  From the Mining Section web page 
there is also a link to the “Mining Laws and Regulations Booklet.”  The booklet covers most laws pertinent to 
mining on Alaska State Land.  The link is near the bottom left of the page.  Check it out!   
 
Several State and Federal agencies offer assistance to the would-be miner. Some sources of information are 
the State’s Department of Natural Resources Public Information Centers (Anchorage and Fairbanks), or the 
Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Public Information offices.  See the contact information at the end of 
this Fact Sheet.  For further information regarding mining claims on federal land please go to the following 
Bureau of Land Management (BLM) web pages:  
 
http://www.blm.gov/pgdata/etc/medialib/blm/wo/MINERALS__REALTY__AND_RESOURCE_PROTECTION_/en
ergy.Par.28664.File.dat/MiningClaims.pdf and 
 http://www.blm.gov/wy/st/en/programs/mineral_resources/Mining_Claims.html.   
Each state determines the laws for locating mining claims on federal lands within the state.  The statutes for 
locating a federal mining claim in Alaska can be found at Alaska Statute (AS) 27.10.  (See link on Mining 
Section web page, above.)   
 
You can do a lot of research on state mining claims through the State of Alaska website.  Alaska Mapper is a 
GIS based, layered mapping and information system that depicts all state mining claims and leases.  You can 
find Alaska Mapper at http://dnr.alaska.gov/MapAK/.  There are links to a User Guide and Support at the 
bottom of the first page of the site.  Alaska Mapper includes a very handy set of query tools to obtain 
information on individual claims, leases, and other items.  Once into a query, you can link to Land 
Administration System (LAS) Case Abstracts of the claim for further information.  Personnel in the Public 
Information Centers in Anchorage and Fairbanks can assist in using Alaska Mapper.   
 
A researcher can also find state mining claim data through the LAS Case File and Land Abstracts at 
http://dnr.alaska.gov/projects/las/.  One can either access information using the ADL (Alaska Division of 
Lands) file type and number, or by meridian, township, range and section under “Display Land Information.”  
Once into a case abstract you can:  see the history of the claim; determine claim status (active or closed); 
and link to relevant recorded documents like the location certificate, quitclaim deeds, and annual labor 
affidavits.   
 
The current status of a state mineral location can also be determined by contacting the Department of 
Natural Resources Public Information Centers in Anchorage or Fairbanks. If the mineral location is federal, 
contact the Bureau of Land Management Public Information Office in Anchorage if the claim number is 
preceded with an “A” or “AA”; or in Fairbanks if the claim number is preceded with an "F” or “FF”. (See 
agency points-of contact page below.)  
 

http://dnr.alaska.gov/mlw/mining/index.cfm
http://www.blm.gov/pgdata/etc/medialib/blm/wo/MINERALS__REALTY__AND_RESOURCE_PROTECTION_/energy.Par.28664.File.dat/MiningClaims.pdf
http://www.blm.gov/pgdata/etc/medialib/blm/wo/MINERALS__REALTY__AND_RESOURCE_PROTECTION_/energy.Par.28664.File.dat/MiningClaims.pdf
http://www.blm.gov/wy/st/en/programs/mineral_resources/Mining_Claims.html
http://dnr.alaska.gov/MapAK/
http://dnr.alaska.gov/projects/las/


 

 

Other factors can enter into claim validity – factors that are often challenged in a court of law, especially if 
claim conflicts exist.  These may include:   

 
1. Whether the claim was located following the guidelines of appropriate State or Federal regulations, 

including:  
• Whether a “discovery” of a locatable mineral actually took place. The seller should be able to 

prove what type of discovery took place, i.e. geochemical sampling, panning, or drilling. If a 
visit to the location is possible, obtain permission to do your own sampling.  

• Whether the claim was actually staked in the field. Were posts or monuments erected and 
notice posted according to law? Or, was the claim “paper-staked”?  

• Whether the claim was properly recorded within 45 days of the date of staking in the District 
Recorder’s Office where it was located.  

2. Whether annual labor has been done and properly recorded.  Errors in the “essential facts” required 
on the annual labor affidavit are grounds for abandonment of the claim.   

3. Whether annual rental has been paid in a timely manner. On State mining claims the rental year 
begins at noon on September 1 and ends at noon on September 1 of the following year. Payments 
must be received no later than November 30 of the same year. The penalty for failure to make a 
timely payment is abandonment of the location.  See the Annual Rental Fact Sheet available on the 
Mining Section web page or at the Public Information Centers in Anchorage or Fairbanks.    

• NOTE: A word of caution, if the staking date of a mining claim on State land is prior to 
September 1 of a particular year, two annual rental payments will be required during that first 
year. The first is due no later than 45 days after the staking date of the location, and the 
second, no later than November 30.  

 
As a buyer, there are other important concerns you should be aware of or have clarified before taking the 
big plunge of investing:  
 

1. Is the seller legitimate and reputable? What is their mining, prospecting, or geological 
background? How can it be verified? 

2. Have any valuable minerals ever been produced or found on the land? Historical and geological 
reports on most areas in the State are available through the State Division of Geological and 
Geophysical Survey or the U.S. Geological Survey. The USGS maintains the Alaska Resource Data 
Files (ARDF) at http://ardf.wr.usgs.gov/.  The ARDF files contain descriptions of many of the 
mineral occurrences in Alaska, and are a good quick reference.   

3. Can the seller produce proof that he has operated on the claim? Depending on the type of 
equipment used, permits are normally required before any type of mining operation can begin. 
Operators who have submitted Applications for Permits to Mine in Alaska (APMAs) for intended 
mining activity involving mechanized equipment can be confirmed through a State Division of 
Mining, Land and Water Permitting Office.  

4. Be aware of what rights you have with a mining claim! A common misconception is that the 
buyer is actually buying the land. This is not true, unless the mining property has been 
patented under Federal law and the owner has title to the land. (Patents are not issued under 
State mining laws.) Without a patent, the seller is only transferring their interest in the mineral 
rights to you. Ownership of the land remains with the State, Federal, or local government. As a 
claim owner, you have the right to possession and extraction of the minerals; but:  

a. You may not use a mining claim for purposes other than mining. Incompatible uses 
include residential use, placing any surface improvement on the claim without written 
approval; and use of the claim to pursue recreational or business interests such as 
hunting, fishing, trapping, guiding, or outfitting.  

b. You may not restrict public access without written approval from the land manager.   

http://ardf.wr.usgs.gov/


 

 

c. If a third party has interest in the surface estate of a state mining claim, such as a grazing 
lease or surface ownership by a borough, you are required to reimburse the lessee or 
surface owner for damages caused by your use of the location for mining.   

5. Is the claim compatible with the type of mining you intend to do? For example, if you intend to 
conduct suction dredging activities and the claim is located on a salmon spawning stream, be 
aware of the time frame restrictions as to when dredging can take place – generally from May 15 
to July 15 annually. Note that on federal lands (federal mining claims), suction dredging is 
authorized at the discretion of the Authorized Officer.  

6. Access – Are you familiar with the claim’s general location? Is there reasonably accessible? If 
travel “cross country” is involved, check land status along the route. Native corporation land, 
parks, refuges, stream crossings, area plans, type of equipment, time frame for intended travel, 
restrictive right-of-ways, etc., are potential problem areas. Charter flights to a “fly-in” only area 
can be expensive.  

7. Water Rights – Are existing water rights associated with the claim? Water rights are registered 
with the State of Alaska and a certificate issued by the State’s Department of Natural Resources, 
Division of Mining, and Land & Water. Will they be transferred as part of the purchase? What is 
the availability of water in that particular stream during the course of a mining season?  

8. What permitting requirements are there for mining activities, including transportation of 
equipment; exploration; or actual mining, in Alaska?  It’s important to know any such activity 
must be fully permitted before “start-up” can begin.  

9. Can mining even be conducted on your claim? In recent years, lawsuits against the State and 
Federal governments have restricted or stopped mining activity altogether in certain areas. 

 
The above information should assist a potential claim buyer in understanding what they might be getting 
into and making a logical decision. Further assistance concerning specific subject areas can be obtained by 
contacting the agencies listed below.   

 
SUBJECT AREA  STATE CONTACT  FEDERAL CONTACT  

Mining Information  
Claim status  
Land status  
Forms  
General information  

Department of Natural Resources  
Public Information Center  
550 West 7th Ave., Suite 1260  
Anchorage, AK 99501-3557  
Phone: 907-269-8400  
3700 Airport Way  
Fairbanks, AK 99709-4699  
Phone: 907-451-2705  

Bureau of Land Management  
Public Room  
222 West 7th Ave., #13  
Anchorage, AK 99513-7599  
Phone: 907-271-5960  

Mine Permitting  Department of Natural Resources  
Division of Mining, Land & Water  
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 900B  
Anchorage, AK 99501-3577  
Phone: 907-269-8647  
3700 Airport Way  
Fairbanks, AK 99503-5935  
Phone: 907-451-2788  

Bureau of Land Management  
Anchorage District Office  
4700 BLM Road  
Anchorage, AK 99507-2591  
Phone: 907-267-1246  
Fairbanks District Office  
1150 University Avenue  
Fairbanks, AK 99709-3844  
Phone: 907-474-2251  

Water Rights  Department of Natural Resources  
Division of Mining, Land & Water  
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1020  
Anchorage, AK 99501-3577  
Phone: 907-269-8600  

None – All water rights are issued 
through the State’s Department of 
Natural Resources. 

 


