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Department of Natural Resources 
Division of Mining, Land and Water 

Fact Sheet: Shore Fishery Leasing 
 
 
As manager of state-owned tide and submerged lands, the Department of Natural Resources issues shore fishery (set net) 
leases under Alaska Statute 38.05.082. A shore fishery lease gives the leaseholder first priority to use the lease site for 
commercial salmon set net fishing. This “first priority” applies only when the leaseholder is personally fishing the site. 

 
Is a shore fishery lease required for set net fishing? 
No. A shore fishery lease is not required for set net fishing. 
However, an individual may choose to obtain a shore 
fishery lease because it guarantees they will be able to fish 
in the same location each year. Individuals with a valid 
shore fishery lease may exclude others from set net fishing 
in their leased site when they are physically present and 
fishing the site. 

Who may apply for a shore fishery lease? 
An applicant for a shore fishery lease must be a citizen of 
the United States who is at least 18 years of age and must 
have a valid limited entry permit (LEP) or an interim-use 
salmon set net permit for the area within which a lease is 
requested. A shore fishery lease for a minor who is at least 
10 years of age and has a valid LEP may be issued in the 
name of the legal trustee. On the date of the minor’s 18th 
birthday the lease automatically transfers to the minor’s 
name. 

When may I apply for a shore fishery lease? 
You may apply for a shore fishery lease between June 1 and 
October 15 each year. 

How do I apply for a shore fishery lease? 
First, decide where you want to locate your set nets. Then 
ensure the area is open to commercial set net fishing, 
which is managed by the Alaska Department of Fish and 
Game (ADF&G). Generally, if the tide or submerged lands 
are not already leased to another set netter, you may stake 
your lease area between May 2 and October 15. You have 
30 days after staking the site to file your shore fishery lease 
application with the Department of Natural Resources 
(DNR) at the address listed at the end of this fact sheet. 
Your application must be submitted between June 1 and 
October 15, include a location map, and meet the other 
requirements listed in DNR’s Shore Fisheries Leasing 
regulation 11 AAC 64.260. 

What fees are associated with a shore fishery lease? 
A non-refundable application fee is required with each 
application. There is a shore fishery diagram review fee. 
The first year's annual lease rent must be paid before the 
lease is issued. Applicants must also pay the cost associated 
with having a shore fishery diagram prepared by a licensed 
surveyor. 

Do I have to stake my site? 
Yes, unless this activity results in trespass on private 
property. Before submitting an application, each site must 
be staked as described in 11 AAC 64.090. The location stake 
must carry a sign with the applicant’s name, mailing 
address, limited entry permit number and date of staking. 
The shore fishery lease application must then be filed 
within 30 days after staking the site. Staking may occur 
between May 2 and October 15 of each year. 

Does staking give me exclusive use of a site? 
No. Staking is part of the application process for a shore 
fishery lease. It notifies others that you have applied for a 
lease at the staked site. You do not have first priority to fish 
the site until your lease is issued. 

What areas are open to shore fishery leasing? 
Only certain areas in Southcentral Alaska are open. They 
are located in the Alaska Peninsula area, Bristol Bay, Kodiak 
Island waters, Cook Inlet, and the Eshamy Bay district in 
Prince William Sound. These areas are defined in the 
ADF&G Board of Fisheries commercial finfish regulations. 

May I locate my site anywhere I wish within the open 
areas? 
No. You must contact ADF&G to find out what tide and 
submerged lands are open to commercial set net fishing on 
a permanent basis. 



 

 June 2021 Page 2 of 3 

Does the state have a list of set net sites available for 
leasing? 
No. You must locate your own site within the open areas by 
using DNR’s online GIS system, Alaska Mapper. Alaska 
Mapper instructions are available on the DNR Public 
Information Center website. 

How long is a shore fishery lease valid? 
Per statute, a lease is issued for up to 10 years. At least 90 
days before the lease expiration date, the leaseholder may 
request in writing for an extension of the lease term if the 
lease is in good standing and the lessee is qualified. 

How many setnet sites may I lease? 
The number of nets varies depending on the commercial 
finfish regulations for the area. For example, three nets are 
allowed under a single lease in Cook Inlet while only two 
nets are allowed under a single lease in Bristol Bay. 

Do I have to apply separately for each set net site? 
No. Sites, up the maximum number allowed in your area, 
that are within a reasonable distance from each other may 
be included in one application. 

May I use my shore fishery lease area for purposes other 
than salmon fishing? 
No. A shore fishery lease is issued only for the purpose of 
commercial salmon set net fishing. No other activities or 
structures are allowed. 

What is a shore fishery diagram? 
It is a detailed map, completed by a licensed surveyor, that 
shows the exact location of your site and its relationship to 
local landmarks and adjacent or neighboring sites. It is 
more detailed than the location map included with your 
application and is the official location of your lease. 

Who is responsible for preparing the shore fishery 
diagram? 
It is the applicant’s responsibility to hire a licensed surveyor 
to complete the diagram. After your shore fishery lease 
application has been through public notice, you will receive 
a packet with detailed instructions for preparing a diagram. 
You must submit the preliminary diagram within 90 days of 
receiving the packet. Diagram instructions are available on 
the DNR Shore Fish website. 

Do I have to survey my set net site? 
Although it is generally not required, having a field survey 
completed for your site(s) is recommended. Under unusual 
circumstances, such as where shoreline erosion or 
accretion causes problems in locating the site, or conflicts 
appear to exist with neighboring sites, you may be required 
to survey your site. 

May I construct improvements within my shore fishery 
lease area? 
No. You may not construct improvements such as a cabin or 
storage building within your lease area. The lease is only for 
set netting on the tide and submerged land and does not 
give the lessee any rights to the adjacent uplands. 

Must I physically fish the leased site myself? 
Yes. You must personally fish each site of each leased tract 
as depicted on your shore fishery diagram for at least four 
legal fishing periods during the commercial fishing season 
at least every other year, Failure to do so is grounds for 
lease termination. 

May I move my nets within my lease area? 
No. You are required to fish your lease as drawn in your 
diagram. Leases are issued using minimum distances 
established by ADF&G. Failure to fish the site as depicted 
on your shore fishery diagram is grounds for lease 
termination. 

May I change the location of my lease site after the lease 
has been issued? 
Yes, but only after applying for a lease amendment and the 
amendment has been approved. An amendment 
application may be submitted during the lease application 
period between June 1 and October 15 of any year. Most 
amendment applications require the same fees and steps 
as a new lease application. 

May I sublease my set net site? 
There is currently no established sublease process for shore 
fishery leases. 

May I assign my shore fishery lease to another person? 
Yes. You may assign your lease (transfer all your lease 
rights) to a person who is qualified to apply for a lease and 
if the lease payments are current. An assignment fee is 
required to process this transaction. Qualifications and 
procedures for an assignment are described in 11 AAC 
64.430 - .440. 

If my family and I have been fishing the same section of 
beach for several generations, do we have "grandfather" 
rights to fish a site and exclude all others? 
No. No one has exclusive rights to a set net site because of 
current or historical family use. However, the length of time 
a person has commercially fished a certain site is part of a 
shore fishery lease application. 

If I acquire an unleased site from a family member or 
another set netter who has fished it for several years, can 
I claim this time when I apply to lease the site? 
No. You can only claim the time you have personally fished 
a site. 
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What other information is helpful before applying for a 
shore fishery lease set net site? 
A shore fishery leaseholder does not own the tide and 
submerged lands leased to them. A shore fishery lease is 
not required to participate in a shore fishery. Persons or 
family members who have historically fished a location 
have no special rights to that site. However, a shore fishery 
lease gives the leaseholder the first right of priority to 
commercial set gillnet for salmon at their leased location 

but only if the leaseholder is present and fishing the site. If 
the leaseholder is not present and fishing, anyone else may 
fish the leased site. Use of the lease site is also subject to 
conditions in the lease such as other reasonable concurrent 
uses and public access to navigable waters and other tide 
and submerged land. Regardless of any private transactions 
between individuals, the lease remains in the original 
lessee's name until a lease assignment has been approved 
by DNR’s Shore Fishery Leasing Program. 

 

For information about shore fishery leases, search the State of Alaska website at alaska.gov for the DNR Shore Fishery 
Leasing Program or contact: 
 

Department of Natural Resources 
Division of Mining, Land and Water 

Shore Fishery Leasing Program 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 900C 

Anchorage, AK 99501-3577 
Phone: (907) 269-8543 or (907) 269-8503 

 

Department of Natural Resources 
Public Information Center 

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1360 
Anchorage, AK  99501-3561 

Phone:  (907) 269-8400 
Fax:  (907)269-8901 
dnr.pic@alaska.gov 

  
Statewide TTY - 771 for Alaska Relay or 1-800-770-8973 

 

For information about commercial fishing, contact: 
 

Alaska Department of Fish and Game 
333 Raspberry Road 

Anchorage, AK 99518-1599 
Phone: (907) 267-2105 

Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission 
8800 Glacier Hwy., #109 

PO Box 110302 
Juneau, AK 99811-0302 
Phone: (907) 789-6150 

 

http://www.alaska.gov/
mailto:dnr.pic@alaska.gov
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