PRE-QUALIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR
KENAI RIVER GUIDES

To pre-qualify for issuance of a 2017 permit, all Kenai River Guide permit applicants shall be required to
submit the following information. Please take time to look them over.

1. Applicants for Kenai River guide permits must be 18 years of age.

2. All fishing guides need to successfully pass the Kenai River Guide Academy course prior to applying
for an Alaska State Park permit. For more information, you can contact the Kenai Peninsula College
at (907-262-0344). A web site is also available with the KRGA information: www.krga.org. A copy
of your Kenai River Guide academy certificate is required for registration.

All new scenic or non-fishing guides are required to attend a mandatory orientation. There will
only be two non-fishing guide orientations offered May 13, and June 3, 2017 and they will be
held in Cooper Landing. No other non-fishing guide orientations will be scheduled, so any new
permittees need to make arrangements to attend one of these two sessions. All new non-fishing
permittees, in addition to attending the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation orientation,
will have to present their safety briefing that they would give to their clients. This presentation
will be one on one with a Parks staff person and be conducted on the same day as the
orientation. Please call the State Parks Permitting office (907-714-2471) to inquire on the
orientation session dates and location.

3. A valid Business License for the individual business. More information about business licenses is
available on the State website. http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ/home bus licensing.htm

4. ADFE&G Business Owner/Guide License: Applications for 2017 Saltwater and Freshwater Sport
Fish Business Owner/Guide License applications are available at ADF&G offices or at the Gilman
River Center. Stickers and logbooks will also be available at the Gilman River Center. Licenses can
be purchased online at: https://www.adfg.alaska.gov

5. Avalid U.S. Coast Guard Commercial six-passenger license. This is required by federal law of all
powerboat operators (any vessel powered by any motor). The telephone number for the U.S. Coast
Guard Licensing is 90-271-6736.

6. POWER BOAT OPERATORS: Documentation with expiration date that shows you are registered

with a U.S. Coast Guard Certified and approved random drug testing program. Kenai River
guides who hold Coast Guard licenses to operate a vessel under power must provide proof of their
enrollment in a random drug testing program (per Coast Guard requirements).
NON-POWER BOAT OPERATORS: Unless otherwise registered in a random drug testing
program, Kenai River fishing guides who operate non-motorized vessels are required to provide
proof of a negative drug test administered no more than 30 days before the date of having their permit
issued.




7. Applicants for sport fishing guide permits may not have been convicted of a felony within the past
five years and may not have been convicted of more than one misdemeanor violation of a provision
of 5 AAC47-5AAC 75 (Fish and Game regulations) within the past five years.

8. A valid Alaska Sport Fishing License and Tags. (Required of all operators taking clients sport
fishing (5 AAC 75.075(c)(3).). You may also purchase fishing licenses via the Internet:
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov or any vendor authorized to sell licenses

9. Acurrentdriver’s license or government issues picture 1.D.

10. A current State of Alaska Boat Registration card is required for all power boats and non powered
boats used for guided sport fishing. The Boat registration must be carried aboard the boat whenever it
IS in operation. The boat registration form and more information about the program are available
from the Department of Motor Vehicles on the State web site. The address is
http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/forms.htm. If you have questions, please contact the DMV in the
Red Diamond Center on Kalifornsky Beach Road or call them at (907) 262-4681.

11. The permittee shall furnish proof to the authorizing officer that he/she has commercial liability

insurance to cover commercial operations and such insurance will be approved by the authorizing
officer. A minimum of $100,000 per person/$300,000 combined single limit per occurrence
commercial liability insurance is required and the policy MUST name the “State of Alaska as
additional insured”.
All certificates must provide a 30-day prior written notice to the Kenai Area Superintendent: Division
of Parks and Outdoor Recreation; Gilman River Center; 514 Funny River Road; Soldotna, Alaska
99669; telephone: (907) 714-2471; fax: (907) 260-5992, of cancellations, non-renewal or material
alteration of such insurance or lapse of insurance.

12. A valid American Red Cross Basic First Aid certification or the equivalent, with expiration date.

13. Proof of Alaska State Vehicle and Boat Trailer registration. Alaska law requires that vehicles be
registered in Alaska once the owner begins working in the state. Any vehicles or boat trailers used for
a guide business need to be registered commercially. Contact the Division of Motor Vehicles in the
Red Diamond Center of Kalifornsky Beach Road or at (907) 262-4681 if you have questions.

14. A $100.00 non-refundable permit application processing fee will be applied in addition to all State
Park commercial operator permit application fees.

The commercial operator fee for Kenai River Fishing Guides commercial permits is $700.00 for
residents and $1600.00 for non-residents.

The commercial operator fee for scenic or non-fishing guides commercial permits is $250.00 for
residents and $750.00 for non-residents
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The commercial operator fee for scenic or non-fishing guides operating within that portion of the
Kenai River Special Management Area, bounded by the Kenai National Wildlife Refuge and who
are required to obtain a special use permit from the Kenai National Wildlife Refuge commercial
use permit is $100.00 for residents and $300.00 for non-residents.

15. END OF SEASON REPORTS: Sport fishing guides who in conjunction with their Kenai River
Guide permit list that they guide from Deep Creek SRA, Ninilchik SRA, Anchor River SRA, Kasilof
River SRS, Crooked Creek SRS, Johnson Lake SRS, or Captain Cook SRA must submit a State Park
Use Report for each area they are registered. This report is due on or before December 1 of the
permitted season. Anyone operating outside of the Kenai River Special Management Area under a
Commercial Use Permit must submit their State Park Use Report prior to any permits being issued
for the following season. If you are an employer, make sure you list ALL your employee’s names on
the use report.

16. Signed Stipulations

IN PERSON PERMITTING WILL BE DONE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. Please call 907-714-2471
to make an appointment.
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